Eco project, Conscious people welcome, Cádiz area, Costa de la Luz, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 251 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE AUGUST 2019:

    I prefer to share with conscious people who are on a journey of self discovery and personal developement.

    My name is Andi and I have been living in this area for 13 years.
    I am a yoga teacher and give therapeutic massages to women.

    This is a newish project with several residential buildings. There are three different houses here: in the two bedroom wooden cabin lives Dipa, from Barcelona and we share the garden as well as occasionsl meals, chats and helping each other out. I come from living in a rural community project nearby and love the ethos of community living, with all it's ups and downs.

    There is also a bigger traditionally constructed house where I live and also have a small yoga studio inside. Finally there is ‘La Choza’ which is a small round house with a thatched roof. It has a small bathroom with toilet and sink and a seating and kitchen area as well as two beds. This is where volunteers generally stay. We are in the process of building an outside hot shower.

    There are 2 chickens and a medium sized vegetable plot with politunnel which is totally ecological and will have a section of medicinal plants in the near future.

    I consider myself to be a flexible, open minded person, dedicated to my own personal growth and to living in a more natural, organic and authentic way.

    Please forgive me if I don't get chance to reply to you straight away. I am grateful for all interest and try to reply to everyone, but sometimes it is not possible. Good luck with your search. Volunteering is what brought me to Spain and helping out on a Workaway project helped me decide to change my life and settle here. Best wishes Andi.

    Please check the calendar before writing as I generally update it when there are changes.

    Unfortunately I CANNOT HOST PEOPLE WITH DOGS as my dog Lua is very old and uncomfortable with other dogs. The chickens are also free.

    You will need to use organic and biodegradable soaps and shampoos.

    I speak fluent Spanish and my life is very integrated in the local community.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am immersed in life here, especially alternative living and spiritual development and have many connections in the local community.
    As part of the exchange you would be welcome to join Andi once a week in a yoga class (as long as there is space in the class)

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with general maintenance, cleaning, painting, gardening etc...
    At the moment... summer 2019 there is a lot if gardening to do...willingness is more important than experience...
    We are planting our organic vegetable garden and want to use some principles of permaculture in it's design.
    However, anyone with manual skills would be especially welcomed...eg. carpentry, plumbing, electricity, building work...
    Help is also needed with building repairs and painting around the place.

    I am looking for independent and self motivated people with the ability to collaborate, to seek clarification when necessary and to pay attention to details. People who are responsible and will take care of any tools, machines and equipment used, as well as the cottage you will live in, the finca in general and the environment.
    You need to be comfortable working alone, as well as in a team.

    The work is varied, but generally manual labour, so you need to be reasonably fit and also willing to work outdoors in the heat of the summer, or organise your time so you work in the early morning and/or late afternoon when the sun is not so hot.
    I'm also very interested in photographers and creatives who have knowledge of social media and websites... this would form a part of the work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room in the main house shared with Andi. Or an independent roundhouse cottage with your own toilet and kitchen. Depending on availability. For now, shower facilities are only available in the main house. If you stay in the cottage you will have access to the shower every day. Very occasionally a volunteer may need to stay a few days in a tent in a shady area with access to a bathroom of course.

    You will be responsible for preparing your own breakfast, lunch and dinner using vegetarian food provided by the project. Unless you opt for our 15 hours per week option, where you will provide your own food.

    I am happy to accept couples, but can generally only offer an exchange of 15 hours per week each for accomodation only, plus a couple of shared meals. (Please check, as this can change depending on the work load)
    Andi will prepare 2 to 3 meals a week to share in all cases.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are based in a rural area but you can walk in 5 minutes to a nearby village with all modern conveniences. We are next to a pine forest. We are 5k from the beach and 6k from Conil town. You may have use of a bicycle if it is available. It's a 20 minute bike ride to the beach. There are 2 bikes here.
    Please only write to me if you are seriously interested in helping in this project.
    If you send me your number I can contact you by WhatsApp.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week or 15 if you provide your own food.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 829161994757