Help wanted in Alleppey, Kerala, India for guesthouse.




Favourited 89 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Help needed for running a guesthouse in Alappuzha/Alleppey, Kerala, South India. Located close to Alleppey beach. Long running homestay with 5 rooms, garden and pets.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meet other tourists from all over the world,. Maybe share a beer in the weekends :)

    The owner's great passion at this time is in writing his debut book - a historical novel with an interesting theme - how to live the perfect life. The ongoing project incorporates philosophical tenets that include atheism, finance free lifestyle, suppression of the ego, among others that if adopted in daily life, could lead to a more harmonious existence. So volunteers not suited for proofreading can also if they wish, snatch a peek at the book while they are here, and declare their ideals of what it takes to form the perfect existence. It could lead to a lively discussion which should benefit both parties.

    Also, make use of free time to chat with the guests who check in (positive chat only, please, but Trump bashing is allowed :) share experiences and foster friendships. Yes? :)

  • Help


    General help around the house, especially raking the garden in the morning, room cleaning, helping enter tourist data in register, computer, etc. We are a guesthouse catering to International travelers and thus, there's always maintenance work needed at home- art work in the themed rooms, painting of walls, carpentry work, etc. There is space for a planned restaurant in our front yard. So, could us volunteers who posess construction skills, welding, carpentry, cementing work, etc.

    The owner is in the process of writing a historical novel, in English, and so needs volunteers who have completed creative writing courses who can help proofread and edit. Those familiar with and are experienced in the use of grammar, tense, style, passive voice, point of view, show don't tell techniques and other writing tools are welcome. A volunteer who can help with the cleaning duties for three to four hours and then with proofreading or vice versa, would be ideal. Flexibility is a keyword.

    We have an array of pets including a horse. Owner also has a one and half year old baby. Bewarned, both the baby and pets may vie for your attention, and affection:)

    We will be strict on work ethics and timings. Prefer volunteers to start early and finish early, so they can have time off for the rest of the day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Room with bathroom attached.

    Bfast, lunch & dinner provided. Breakky - toast and two scrambled eggs, tea. Lunch - same as host - usually rice, two veg dishes. Fish or chicken every couple of days. Dinner - chappathies and veg dish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Alleppey is the center of backwater tourism in Alleppey. Nice to take the local ferry (very cheap) and explore the villages that dot the beautiful scenic backwaters. Also as we are close to the beach - stroll down there to catch the sunset.There are a couple of other beautiful beaches not too far from the town - the Marari beach - 20 minuteness drive is really beautiful. The snake temple is about 40 minutes drive. The guesthouses and lake side houseboat jetties are all spread out in Alleppey, and although tourism is big here, one cannot yet call it a touristy place. It's a nice place to chill and relax.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 826979636959