Please help me build the Pond and create the gardens in Sierra da Estrella, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    69

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I'm a 60 year old single man and
    Living with a few health issues which is a bit hard at times and I would really like a little bit of your time if you are passing. Just to get me back on track
    Here it is totally tranquil. It's not party land, there is not lots of visitors, it is just a really quiet place.
    I am making progress.
    After the unexpected fire in October 2017 completely wiped out my little place in the forest..
    The house is at last finished.. And I have now moved in...

    The land needs us....
    I need you....
    The first Pond is beautiful and alive.
    There are lots of things to do.
    However my major projects is getting the big pond up and running and recreating the gardens.

    This pond was dug a couple of years ago, but it won't hold water so we need to line the pond and plant some plants and flowers Around the edge and surrounding area.
    The garden is now ready to expand to create the heart of the smallholding.
    There are over 20 very large Pine and Eucalyptus trees to fell and log.
    Lots to do.

    The wildlife is coming back. Now we need to help them along...
    Last year there were so many butterfly's in the wild area.
    Cardinal, Southern and Scarce Swallowtails,
    Speckled Wood, and an array of Whites,
    Painted lady, Red Admiral and Orange Sulphur,
    colours soso bright.
    Newts and Frogs and Gekko's and Yogs and possibly the odd Carmelian take fright
    Dragonflys and Bats and many Birds can be heard,
    The Owl still hoots. Sometimes...

    We have the highest mountain in Portugal, The Sierra de Estellas,
    that's even got a ski resort
    Plenty of river beaches with super clean water to cool off in.
    Busy ones and hidden delights.


    Work includes.
    Logging.
    Clearing the burnt wood.
    Making the gardens
    Planting fruit trees.....
    The well is around 10 Mts deep and in need a good scrub. Not for the faint hearted.
    Irrigation pipe laying etc.
    There is something to do for everyone.

    I can accept up to 2 -3 volunteers and have a large rough n ready caravan or bring your own tent.
    Loos are basic but have a very good view.

    You are welcome to come and help me, my place is quiet, very quiet....I'm near Oliveira do Hospital on the N17 . !!!!

    Free meals, stories and let's meet new friends...

    Accomodation
    Vegetarian food
    And a beautiful place to hang out

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak only English fluently but love the converse in other languages.
    A lot is to be learnt by spending time with folk from other cultures.
    The forest is a magical place. But it can be a very dangerous place, you learn how to stay safe learn to use some power tools and how to hopefully fell a tree without it falling on your car or house. Or mine for that matter.
    Thanks for looking and I look forward to welcoming you.

  • Help

    Help

    Logging
    Gardening,
    Tree Planting.
    Water Management.
    Building Maintenance.
    Building Structures with Eucalyptus .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan with all amenities. Cooker shower. Etc. Comfortable. For 1 person, 2 close friends or couple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here we are in central Portugal surrounded by forest.
    near to the town of Oliveira do Hospital. 5k away. All the service you may need are available. Shopping, Dr, Dentist etc.
    There are Buses from Oliveira to Coimbra and onto the airports at Lisbon and Oporto.
    Also there is sometimes mobile internet signal available here. Vodaphone.. ...We are quite isolated here but not cut off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 824195565687