Help in the house and with the kids while enjoying the Azores (Flores island), Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 258 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a familiy with a 3 kids (5,3 & 4 months old) 2 cats and 7 chiken who live in a simple way in Flores island. We just finished to build our wooden house and we want to continue preparing our lands to create a nice enviromental sistem.
    We just opened a guest House.
    For the work you will need to be in good fisical conditions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in almost one hectare land, just in front of the sea,up in the clift. Our lands are close to the village ( 7 minutes walk) . There are many activities to do around like beautiful trecking, canyoning, swimming under the waterfalls or in natural swimming pools,…
    We produce our own cosmétics (soap for body & House, creams...)
    There are many things to learn in the island, just being sourrounded by nature is a big experience. It is nice to know the local living way; and specially in summer time there are many local village parties and outside living all around the island.

    We speak 5 languages so it is a nice time to practice them and learn some portuguese too.

  • Help

    Help

    About the help there are different possibilities:
    - We are looking for help to clean Lands from invasive plants , It is a hard work so we look for people in good physical condition.
    -We need help building furniture
    -We will need help in the house, cleaning, cooking, organicing the house, washing clothes,tacking care of the kids,...Eventually we will also need help in the garden and with the animals but most of the time will be in the house.
    - Sometime some cleaning help

    We will ask help for 4 hours a day 5 days a week. Food is included on working days only, normally we eat all together once a day the food that we or you cook.
    We would like to receive people for 2-3 weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Basque: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the accomodation we have a land prepared with tents with see view; and it is possible also to build cabins if you know about construction.We have dry toilets and hot shower.
    We dont have internet conexion at home but 5 min walk there is a bar with wifi.
    There is public transportation (buses) conecting the main villages of the island, but they are not many per day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be good for you to bring tents to the island because free camp is all around. We are flexible in our living way. In the same time we ask for common sense to mantain a nice armony in the property and also in the island.
    Helpers must be in good fisical condition.
    You are welcome to visit us and share experiences in the nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our house



Host ref number: 821792312339