Immerse yourself in permaculture and help us cultivate our land in Jever, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/03/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I've been travelling myself over 8 years and doing a lot of Workaway. I remember a moment in Israel where I said to a friend "One day I also would love to have a place and become a host!".
    Now it's time to switch sides:
    You are very welcome at our nature place here close to the North Sea!
    It is a 2 hectar plot of land which was a maket garden before. Now we are turning the old structures into something new.
    Step by step...
    It needs time for the "old" to change and for the „new“ to grow, that is something we learned already.

    Me, Janina, and my husband Niels are living together with our now 1 year old daughter Tilia in a small yurt on the land. The life close to nature and with the rhythm of nature is our base. Something that gives us strength and grounding and direction in life.
    When we decided to leave the city to find a land where we can live and create our living space and garden, we called our journey "heimwärts". In English you can translate it as "homeward". Anyways, its only a word.
    We are exploring more and more the deeper meaning behind it day by day.
    We are asking ourselves the question "What is really nourishing us?" and we are living in the answers.

    Our life is about permaculture and gardening. Niels is a gardener and biologist and all in all in love with nature.
    We are having a small garden in front of the yurt for our family which is growing and growing. We are trying how to feed our family from our own garden. With every season we are leaning more and more.
    Our life is about stories and music and dancing.
    Our life is about circle ways.
    We are very inspired by the old cultures and their ways of living together in communities.
    Especially the "talking and listening from the heart-culture" is very inspiring for us and it became a very important part of our life. With family and friends we are sharing from our hearts in a circle regulary.

    Step by step we are creating a project here where people can go "heimwärts". Where people can get in touch with nature again. Outer nature, but of course also their inner nature. All is connected.
    It is a heart calling that we are creating and opening a space for people to connect.
    Connect with the earth. Connect with each other. Connect with themselves. Connect with God.

    We feel that we are living in a big changing time on earth and its up to each one of us in which direction as human family we are moving now.
    Lets be the change we want to see in the world! :)
    (Such an old quote, but still so true.)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be part of our family life. You can learn from and with us how life is as a young family living close to nature. You can learn about living in a yurt, about permaculture and gardening, about circle culture and for sure you will learn a lot of songs from us :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    You can help us with work on the land. There is always something to do! It depends on the season which task is there to do, but we love to work all together mostly in the morning, so that we have time in the afternoons for other things.
    There are also some building projects (a new glasshouse, guest house, tree house etc.) where we could need your help.
    And we are very open for the skills and ideas you are bringing along. This place is growing and changing with it's people.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can either bring your own tent and find yourself a spot here on the land where you can sleep. Or we have one guest house where 2 people can sleep in.
    A small community house on the land is providing a bathroom with toilet and warm shower. And also a small kitchen for everyone to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A few minutes walking distance there is a nice forest here where we like to go for walks. There is a small lake in the middle of the forest where it is nice to just sit and watch the water.
    Approx. 15minutes with the car there is another nice forest area with more lakes. Also a great spot for walking and swimming,
    And approx. 15minutes with the car there is the North Sea. A very special place on earth. The ebb and flow is something very special and unique to see. Also the "Watt" where you can walk from the shore to an island (with a guide!) and enjoy wide land. To put the mud over your whole body is also a very nice experience we can definitely recommend! :)

    We have some bicycles here for you to use. We dont have a car, but sometimes we can rent one and go for a trip together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes, we have a good internet connection here and we can definitely find a way that you can also work from here. We have a office room that we are also using and the Wifi is also working outside the building. If you want to work from here we definitely have to talk about it before...just let us know.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a good parking space for campervans in any size. Its very close to the community house where you can use all the facilities.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It depends! We had different experiences. Please let us know if you want to bring your pet and we talk about before you come.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 817792116119