Family help on the Costa Brava, Spain



Favourited 109 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Our house in Mont-ras, catalonia, is similar to a terraced house in the UK. There's quite a lot of work to do and with Alfonso, my husband, being mobility challenged, we sometimes require extra help. A friend deals with the garden and does the basics. So, we need someone to help in the house, to do a bit of cooking and to keep Alfonso company when I go out or take a break and go away for a few days. Alfonso speaks English, French and Italian besides spanish and Catalan. He is fun-loving and enjoys meeting new people. He loves music, philosophy and art.
    The area is very pleasant, just 4 kms inland from the prettiest landscapes on the Costa Brava and there are hills too where you can go hiking. Please bear in mind, however that this is not the sunny south and we do occasionally get cold, wet weather in winter.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Alfonso used to work as a tourist guide and knows Catalonia very well. he loves to tell people about interesting places to visit, not only in Barcelona but in other areas too.

  • Help


    As from March the helpers' duties would consist in keeping Alfonso company during the afternoon and evening plus cooking some dinner. Alfonso appreciates company and is fun-loving and communicative. He often needs help with the computer/mobile and likes to practise his English and also French and Italian. He enjoys music a lot too. I will be away for a short break, no more than 3 days from March 22nd to 25th and will need a patient, competent person to stay with Alfonso. Paid carers will be present in the morning to get him up, dress him etc and at night to take him to bed. Although this may sound rather challenging for people who have little experience looking after elderly people, I can assure you that previous helpers have managed very well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Catalan, French, German (ein bisschen)

  • Accommodation


    Apartment in the basement with bathroom, fridge and cooking facilities plus a lovely view of the garden. If this is not available, you will be upstairs with your own bathroom, study and terrace.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can visit Barcelona, Girona or the Dali museum in Figueres. You can go cycling, swimming, hiking etc. There is no train but the bus service (SARFA) is not bad and the station is very close to our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Not more than 4 hours, 5 days a week but you might have to work on Saturdays.

Host ref number: 817511813684