Help with our ecotourism projects in Cobán, Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/11/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Antonio. I founded a small ecotourism complex in the mountains surrounded by subtropical forest near Cobán, a city in the northern part of Guatemala. We have aquamarine rivers, pristine waterfalls, and private, protected jungle where plants and animals can thrive in peace. Our collaborators are trusted friends. We work with the local community and provide jobs that pay a living wage. We are a team and we appreciate each other. Our electricity comes from solar panels and a small water turbine. We manage our sewage using septic tanks and absorption wells and we try to educate our visitors about the importance of conservation and adopting an environment friendly lifestyle. Our guests come from all over Guatemala and the world as we offer a peaceful and adventurous getaway.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The traveller will enjoy an immersive cultural experience by staying with our family in Cobán and also working in Sacmoc, both located in the department (equivalent of a State) of Alta Verapaz, which is the main destination for ecotourism and adventure in Guatemala. In Sacmoc the traveller will stay with the staff and be surrounded by Spanish and Kekchí (local mayan language), local traditions, and local lifestyle. They will be able to experience the ways the local community earns income, regional gastronomy, local construction techniques and materials while surrounded by local wildlife and plants. The place is safe, peaceful and quiet, isolated by jungle and rivers. We receive visitors from Guatemala and all over the world, so there're many chances to make new friends. All of the staff (5 people approximately) is made of local people. How many are there? The manager speaks basic English and I speak fluently so communication will not be an issue.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a dedicated traveler to help us create beautiful gardens, improve our landscape and keep our grounds looking great. We need help managing the landscape and the design of our open spaces, trails and guardrails. We also need help with the decor of our accommodations and common areas. The traveler will be in charge of proposing their ideas and design for the improvements needed, will work with the local team.

    Only inquiries from travelers with experience in the areas we need help with will be considered.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, English, basic Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In Cobán, the traveller will stay in our family home. Private room, WiFi, shared bathroom with hot shower, large garden and 5 dogs. We are a big family! In Sacmoc, the accommodation will be with our staff in the main building where they will have a bed in a room shared with 3 more staff members, shared bathroom and showers.

    We will provide 3 meals per day (Breakfast, lunch and dinner). Work will mainly take place in Sacmoc, materials will be bought in Cobán.

    Sacmoc is a quiet and peaceful place away from everything, with no electricity and no phone or internet connection in the cabins.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can pick up the traveller in Guatemala City and provide transportation to Cobán. Sacmoc is located 1 hour and 40 minutes away, we can provide transportation from Cobán.

    Alta Verapaz is a department with many natural destinations, not far from Cobán (capital of the department). Petén is the department which has the most jungle in the country and ancient Mayan ruins. Any information or recommendation, we can provide and sometimes maybe join.

    Physical activity in Sacmoc is constant, weather is hot and humid, so good health, attitude and physical condition are required.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 815399522679