Come and share the experience of taking care of a botanic garden in southwest Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 143 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Ron and Trudy, from the US. In 1969 we met in Germany and traveled for some years. On arriving in Costa Rica we fell in love with the people and the country and decided to stop our trip and live in paradise.

    In that location, we had our two children that grew up here. They left few years ago and now we are the two of us with our dog Spike.

    At the beggining, 40 years ago, we originaly grew cacao and other fruits to sell.
    After a while, when Costa Rica became touristic, we started to open the garden to the public.
    With passion, over the years, we enlarged the size of the garden and collection of plants.

    For more than 10 years we welcome volonteers in our garden to help us maintain the place and share our experiences with them.

    You will be directly in the garden, surounded by forest, with the beach in front. So you can see everyday different animals such as parrots, tucans, monkeys or agoutis and many others !
    The closest town, Golfito, is 30 minutes away by boat, with no public transport. You will go with us once a week to town to buy your weekly food.

    LOCATION OF THE GARDEN :
    Golfito (SW, Pacific coast), 30 minutes from Panama border.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we hope you understood, we love to share !
    We would be sincerely happy to teach you about the plants and fruits from the garden. For example, one of the first things we do is show you how to make coconut milk. We also have many medicinal plants if you have an interest.

    In return, we would enjoy hearing your experiences of traveling !

    There are people living on the beach next to our garden, so volunteers are welcome to go to meet them to share a part of their life !

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a couple to work for minimum 2 weeks.

    If you are mature, open-minded, enthusiastic, looking for new experiences and of course love to share, you are more than welcome ! Couple that are confortable to be on their own and respect our privacy are a must. We are both from the US so we speak english and basic spanish.

    The help consists of a variety of jobs like weeding, raking leaves from the paths, planting, using natural materials (like coconuts husk) to create artistic places, etc…
    You have to be aware that, sometimes, there is some harder work to do such as shoveling dirt or hauling rocks.

    The help is expected for 3 hours per day (from 7 to 10 am), 5 days a week.
    One of the 2 days off has to be on Friday because it is the day we go to town to do the shopping for the week. We will meet you on that day to go to the garden and return the next Friday for more shopping.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide a separate house for the couple directly in the garden, then you can be awakened by the parrots and howler monkeys ! The house is 25m away from the beach.

    The house is equiped with a bedroom (Sheets included), bathroom (Towels are provided) and fully equiped kitchen including a small fridge and a four-burner stove.

    We can provide, if you need it, internet 1h per day.
    We use solar panels so, be aware that, in case of low battery, we will have to save energy for lights and fridge :)

    As we said, you will have to buy your own food at the city every Friday.
    We will be happy to share with you fruits and spices from the garden when they are in the season.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a remote location, 30 minutes by boat from town.
    There are no roads, no public transportation to go to Golfito (the town) and no stores (including bars). That way we can fully enjoy the sounds of the nature !

    After work, you can walk around the garden to see as many animals as you can, read, cook, enjoy the beach, go explore around and rest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 814548952366