Edible Plant Nursery in rural Ottawa (capital of Canada)

Country

Canada

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/01/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and three children live on 26 mostly wooded acres, rural Ottawa Valley about 35 minutes by car from downtown Ottawa. I run a small edible plant nursery selling hard to find and useful edibles with an emphasis on perennials, do garden installation and design and run workshops. I also work in partnership with other organizations like Canadian Organic Growers. The property is mostly wooded with a functional maple bush, forest food garden with mature fruit trees, annual beds, small animals and more.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Help

    Help

    There are lots of projects at works on the property including putting in irrigation ponds, more garden beds, general upkeep, selecting weeding invasives from the woods, trail maintenance, nursery work and more.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Library-bedroom inside the house with shared access to facilities. Can accommodate a small family as there is a futon and a double bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is a beautiful place for restful work and artful contemplation. The garden and house are surrounded by mixed woods and a gneissic (rock) outcropping. It is close to several rivers and horse farms. It is in biking distance of Kinburn and Galetta but you would require a car to get into Ottawa, Anrprior, Almonte or Kanata. I'd be happy to share my knowledge of wild foraging, plant cultivation, and garden design when the opportunity arises.

    Our busiest time of year is from mid-March to mid-June. Early spring starts with boiling down maple syrup and starting plants. I then grow and sell plants for market and prepare the extensive gardens. There are projects throughout the growing season as well.

    As we are a bilingual (Spanish-English) family in an English speaking area, we would also be thrilled to have Spanish speakers that would be willing to give our children extra exposure to their (in this case) father tongue.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 per day

Pumpkins thriving.
We 24 + acres of mixed woods from a mature red pine plantation to a rocky maple bush cut with trails.
Each late winter/spring we make maple syrup from the 12+ acres of maple.
I run a small edible plant nursery selling plants at market and installing edible designs.
We harvest a wide range of food from classic vegetables like carrots, to unusual like skirret, naturalized like daylily and native like prickly gooseberry in the woods, forest garden and annual gardens.
We have a few animals mainly for pest control such as ducks, guinea fowl and chickens.
Our forest garden has 8 mature apples, 5 plums, 2 plumcots, goji berry, many ribes and rubs, pears, haskaps, grapes and a large selection of understory plants including hablitzia, apios, and perennial leek.
Garlic and cabbage in our sun trap circular garden bed.
Trilliums blooming in the maple bush late spring.



Host ref number: 812973731291