Family living in Southern Sweden at the shore of the Baltic Sea

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 220 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    321

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four and have small farm at the coast of the Baltic sea close to Oskarshamn. The farmhouse is more than a hundred years old and is located just a few meters away from a lake, which we can use exclusively for fishing, swimming and anything else. We have four cats and a dog.

    A good work-life-balance is very important for us, and this is also what we have in mind for our helpers. It's not only working here, we also want to show our helpers the laid back Swedish lifestyle here at the Eastern coast. Both sides should feel that they did benefit from your stay at our place.

    Hein: I was born in the north of Germany, and my profession as a carpenter has a very important role in the realization of our dream life. I’ve always felt at home out in nature, fishing, sailing or mushroom picking,. I like to work in the garden and cultivate home-grown fruits and vegetables.

    Astrid: I love living in the nature and the freedom here in Sweden. By profession I’m a surgery nurse, nature and the garden are a good balance to my professional life. It gives me great joy to explore and try new things, I also like to cook. Because of this, in the garden and kitchen I experiment often. My family is very important to me. In addition, I am very interested in photography, literature, animals and music.

    We also have two children, Fridtjof and Fredrik. Both boys are growing up here in the middle of nature and learn early on where the food comes from, that the fish and meat does not come out of the freezer at the grocery store.

    There are forests all around our property, and the Baltic sea is not even a kilometer away from the house.

    We have a lot of different projects to start with, beginning with creating a garden designed for permaculture and a self-sufficiant lifestyle and start up with bee keeping again.

    We are going to need help with constructing different smaller buildings, like a treehouse, a greenhouse and a guesthouse. We also have to do some restoration on the the smaller house next to our home. Another project is building a floating pavillon on the lake.

    There are other long term projects, like work into the forrest and build a wooden hottub and build a sauna. We also plan to get some chickens, so we have to build a shed and a fence around the chicken yard.

    We expect from our helpers to be independant and reliable. You don't need to have any extraordinary skills (even if it would not be a disadvantage), you will learn what to do and how to do it.

    Inside all buildings is no smoking area, we expect you to respect that. We are non-vegetarians and won't do any extra dishes.

    You will have good homemade food every day, and you will be able learn how to bake bread ore making cheese and much more.

    We speak English, German, Swedish and Norwegian. Since we are not native Swedish speakers and want to raise our children at least bilingual, we usually don't speak Swedish at home. During the time we have volunteers in the house, we speak English the most of the time.
    But since we have experience in emigrating to Scandinavic countries and have learned their languages, we can help you with both of that too, if you are interested.

    Our helpers will have all their own guest room for privacy, and one ofe the first projects is building a guest appartement with its own bath and kitchen.

    We prefer helpers willing to stay for at least 4 weeks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be introduced both into Swedish and German culture. You can learn about self sufficiancy and how to use things from nature. ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with wooden construction works, skilled handcraftsmen are highly welcome.

    There will also be work to do in the garden and in the house.

    We prefer helpers willing to stay at least 4 weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish, Norwegian, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two seperate guest rooms on the second floor of the house.
    We also want do build a new guesthouse this year.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the south eastern part of Sweden at the Baltic Sea. It's the area with the warmest and sunniest weather of whole Scandinavia.

    You can do a lot of outdoor activities, like hiking, fishing, picking mushrooms and wildberries, doing tours with bicycles or boats.

    You can travel to the islands Öland and Gotland, which are located in the Baltic Sea.

    And you can enjoy good, homemade food every day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 791538156481