Looking for a few visitors to join us and help in our large garden, in beautiful rural Oregon, USA


United States

Favourited 770 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We like to grow and share nutritious fruits and vegetables. We have participate in a food sharing network through a gleaner club and a local community center. We really could use some help in the garden.

    We have a 2000 sq.ft. greenhouse, acres of blackberries, and several fruit and nut trees. We also have about a dozen chickens and 4 brush goats. The farm is organic in practice, but not certified.

    We do ask our visitors to help out with the yard and garden, and related maintainance projects, as they are able, for about 5 hrs/day on 5 days during the week. Food is provided, cooking is usually shared among the visitors. Sleeping facilities are bunk-beds in shared bedrooms in an older colorful (and a bit messy) mobile home that serves as our guest house. The kitchen/living room operate as dorm-style common areas. A trove of interesting treasures have accumulated from past visitors.

    We are located on 62 acres several miles from the nearest towns. We like to call it half fields, half woods, 2 creeks, a pond, and a view of Mt. Hood. Our large fields are farmed naturally by neighboring 3rd generation farmers via various methods of no chemical, responsible farming. We utilize some permaculture techniques and sow, tend and harvest mostly by hand. The woods are mostly left to nature, but there are a variety of trails for exploration.

    We are not a refined estate. We are rough around the edges, a bit messy, but love meeting new people.

    We look forward to meeting new people, sharing the beauty of our area, and joining together to learn about and produce good food. We generally have about 2-4 visitor helpers at any one time. Unfortunately, we cannot take folks with pets or who are under 21.

    Our names are John & Paula Manley. Join us! We look forward to your visit.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would join a group of folks living together, learning to create a productive garden, and building community. We are looking for folks who want to be part of the family, not just a visitor. We strive to cultivate a safe space for everyone to express and explore themselves. You will likely learn just as much about yourself as you will about farming. :-)

    John & Paula Manley, owners of the farm, are retired from outside employment and now seek to enjoy the land, make it more productive, and meet new people with a passion for life. Paula is a retired teacher/counselor/probation officer and a musician. John is a retired land use planner, former bookstore owner, and family history buff.

  • Help


    We try to pair people with projects of interest, from building to gardening to marketing to animal care to blackberry control. All guest house chores are meant to be shared equally amongst everyone. We do ask that you respect the land, the house, the animals, the tools, and the people. We all want to learn/work together and enjoy our time together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish, some german

  • Accommodation


    There are 2 houses on the land, 1 of which houses our visitors. Sleeping accommodations are mostly bunk beds in shared rooms in an older, somewhat messy, but colorful and comfortable, manufactured home. Everyone has a bed and space for their stuff. There are also many lovely places around the farm to get personal space and enjoy the quiet of the woods, creeks, and pond.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is not close to town so having a car is preferable for some folks, but we can transport folks around the are when necessary. Most of our visitors spend some time wandering the forest, playing music, making art or doing other hobbies. There are regular trips to town for groceries and whatnot that you are welcome to come along on. Mt. Hood and the Columbia Gorge are 1 1/2 hrs away, the Pacific Ocean beaches are 2 hrs away, and Portland, Oregon is 50 minutes to the north. There is a beautiful state park 1/2 hour away that has a dozen waterfalls on a day-hike loop trail. We do encourage our visitors to explore the wider area before they depart.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 per week

Host ref number: 786288212656