Help us to reconstruct our loghouse in Nedsaja Village, Estonia

Country

Estonia

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    427

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Merili, Mikk and baby Taavet, and we live in a small farm in the middle of the forests in Nedsaja Village, Põlva County, Estonia. We've lived in the farm for three years now. We currently have 2 goats, 6 chickens, one gentle rooster, adorable dog and a cats.

    We are almost vegetarians with the exeption of occasional fish and we dig ecological lifestyle. Everything we grow is organic and we are really trying to get the most out of everything we use or make.

    With every year we get more and more nature wise. This means that we are really passionate about plants around us and how to use them for tea, food or whatever we need. The most awesome thing we learned this year was to make dish-washing sponges out of a moss.

    This years big projects are:
    veggie permaculture garden and a greenhouse. Mainly we need to prepare the field, to make the beds, to build a fence, to collect and spread materials, and animal poo etc. Lot of sweaty and rewarding work. Also planting our field and greenhouse.

    MAIN PROJECT: we are doing a big time reconstruction on our loghouse. In the meaning that the whole first floor is going through a construction(soon it won’t even have floors and windows). And it will be lifted from the ground. Preparing for this means a lot of packing, sorting and cleaning. Taking away floors. Reconstruction of old stone foundation. The change of house-logs when the house is lifted etc. Work is heavy and rewarding. Please join us if you have skills and interest. You are waited!

    We are building temporary kitchen and dining area into one of our old sidebuilding and washing dishes outside. So please consider all this before writing to us and yes, please ask questions if you wan’t to know about something with more details.

    We don't have a proper system for eating - we eat when we're hungry, but it would be nice to arrange breakfasts and dinners together. Any way our kitchen has food, so nobody will be hungry.

    We have an outdoor DC (dry closet), and we get clean in our magical sauna or since this year we're also renting an apartment in the nearest town which means - a shower! and a washing machine! - a luxury we didn't have before!

    Since we really live in an amazing place in the nature sence then we are not using many chemicals that are really common in beauty products. So no fluoride for us. We provide you good and ecological and all natural beauty products.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn about Estonian nature, culture and history and about the unique Seto culture. Also about living off of the land, and what we know about farming, animals, plants and life and love overall.

  • Help

    Help

    Experience has shown that the best volunteer for our farm is adventurous soul who has some knowledge to offer. Or is really enthusiastic about farm life and has positive attitude towards life. Plus the thing that he or she likes to work individually or with another volunteer. In the meaning that we have our dayjobs. This means that we are not always in the farm. But we love to spend time with our volunteers daily.

    Before writing to us ask yourself - what kind of workaway experience I would love? We are really happy to be match for your dreams.

    You Are Boss of your own time. We give you assignments and wish for 4 hour active work for 5 days a week(weekends are off). When and how you do it is up to you to decide.

    Special volunteer: MERILI ALWAYS NEEDS special volunteer who is willing to cook and clean daily and do some babysitting.
    Special volunteer has a special place in the apartment and can always go to cool places with Merili and Taavet.
    When you write to us then please mention that you are the very special volunteer for us.

    SPECIAL VOLUNTEER 2
    For this summer we are searching for a kitchen talent. With this I am speaking about somebody who loves to cook and experiment in the kitchen with food and products.
    Activities would include:
    *️️ cooking once a day for 10 people
    *️️ making shampoos and home cleaning products out of soda and other creative solutions, toothpastes, soap
    *️️ mosquito lotions from essential oils and coconut oil or some other organic ingredients
    *️️ making plant milk
    *️️ preparations for sprouting etc

    This field is limitless. The aim of this volunteer is to prepare all the common products that we usually buy from the shop with packages. We would love them to be homemade and not create any new package trash.

    For all the other volunteers
    Daily farm tasks include feeding the goats, chicken, cats and dogs, as well as collecting the eggs.

    We have a lot of projects and tasks at the moment. These include:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Building the magical perma beds and filling them with plants - collecting and spreading animal poo, collecting and pileing branches and old wood material, sprading hay all over the field and so much more.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ !!!Building the main house with Mikk - reconstructing the old stone foundation, replacing old logs with new ones(lifting the house), taking off old floors, building new floors etc !!!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Chopping firewood, stacking the wood
    *️️️️️️️ picking berries and mushrooms
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Drying plants and berries
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Clearing out and organizing the various side buildings - cleaning and sorting.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Helping with chores and with preparing food


    There are always things to do on the farm, so projects and tasks may varie a bit.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Estonian, English, French, Russian, pocito espagno!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation will be in the attic of the main house (you are the king/queen of the 2nd floor!). The attick is unisolated. So whatever is the tempreture inside the same goes for outside. We can always put tents indoor, so it stays much warmer and cozier.
    or in the second floor of the barn (Royal Barn-man/woman!) in the hay. We usually but tent on the hay so it is quite cozy and nice.
    or in a tent outside + we have a really good hammock!
    Just let us know if you wish to stay in the tent because our neighbour's kids also love to stay in the tent during the warm nights of summer!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With your time off, you can explore the local area - big forests and wild swomps. We can go hiking and tree climbing together. Buses and trains can take you to Värska, Tartu, Tallinn and many other areas. You can also use our sauna during your time off, as well as relax in the Värska Sanatorium and water center.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 active hours a day, 5 days a week

Peaceful chicks
Well-cleaning
New houselogs that are going To replace old and rotten ones spring 2019
My organic strawberries
Andy and Fanny, 2018 summer - goatsitting
Super-volunteer/friend Michael and Arno
Attick-view
Our log-house









Host ref number: 783943772959