Live with a family and have a real Kiwi experience in Wellington, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/02/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 with 3 boys all under 9. With the wife of the family working away from home during the weekend heading away in October for 6 months, it's left up to myself to manage kids, work and keep a house in order.

    We live in Solway, Masterton, in the mighty Wairarapa region which is a hidden gem of a place that is 1.5 hours from Wellington with plenty to do and see. A region renowned for it's wine and beautiful weather. A very friendly and safe neighbourhood that allows our boys with all their sports and activities to really enjoy being boys.

    We are both of a military background, so definitely have our kids brought up with good manners and values that respect people that visit our new built home. We are looking for a single person or couple that can just help around the house, drop off and pick up the kids, help with meals or take to their ever building sporting codes.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a real Kiwi experience with the wife being of Maori descent in which she can introduce to their cultural ways and language and I am keen to show you our beautiful country and what it has to offer away from the tourist crowded hot spots.

  • Help

    Help

    With the wife away most of the week and going away in October for 6 months, we are looking for help with kids especially at nights due to my workload that requires me to attend a lot of meetings, training's etc. The kids also have many sports to attend after school which requires at times being at different venues, tea to cook so they aren't up too late.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Maori: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    New build 4 bedroom modern, warm and safe house. You would have a room to your own with a shared Bathroom and separate toilet. Food is always abundant in the house with the wife being a chef of 16 years, there is a real chance to enjoy different kiwi cuisines. When she is away, meals are pretty bland as I haven't had the time to learn cooking in a more stylish manner, but it's suffice for the boys and I.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have fantastic train systems that go all the way into Wellington. We have no airports here, so an hour and a half to the closest one. Plenty of local sights to see in this area with the beach around 40 minutes away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 781718553719