Help needed in an animal sanctuary in Perche, Lower Normandy, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 435 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    48  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    73

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ UPDATE : Long term stay very welcome. I do prefer hosting people at least 4 or 5 weeks or a few months. Thanks :) *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    I live in the regional nature reserve of Perche, in Lower Normandy, about 2h30 away from Paris in a small isolated house surrounded by fields, with many animals. This is a very beautiful place, without any neighbour.
    My home is a vegan place, and also a sanctuary for stray cats (12), rescued dogs (4), and retired horses from a riding school (3).

    I'm a psychoanalyst and a energy healer. I'm vegan and interested in ethnology and spirituality, nature, human and animal rights, politics, philosophy and I like discussing about these topics and many others.

    A big part of my time is devoted to my job : therapies, energy cares and hosting people who need to take a break from their habits so they can discover and experiment another way of living, simple, more connected to Nature and to their deep aspirations.

    Apart from that I spend much time alone with the animals or in nature but also enjoy having friends for dinner.
    I live a simple life, as far as possible from modern values as competition, money, business... would love to be self-sufficient but unable to realise it yet. Cultivating my large but abandoned vegetable garden is a project for 2020 but I'm on my own to do everything at home so I'm short of time to take care of the animals, do the daily routine, work aside and begin new activities.

    An efficient help is needed in and around the house, in the garden and vegetable garden : animal love and experience, autonomy, a good sens of humour, enthousiasm, true working moments, this is a good balance to me.
    Workawaying here is based on "community/family" living, spending time together when I m at home, but also long moments alone on the countryside, only surrounded by many dogs and cats you have to take care of. I'm very respectful of people needs and always do my best to organise things so everyone as a moment for themselves beside the working hours but in return I'm asking my guests to be vegan while staying here , to be respectful, open-minded, reliable, and aware they're going to immerse themselves in an animal sanctuary day and night (sleeping wether with some cats in the living room, wether with the dogs in a bedroom), so being able to focus on living beings around them and not only on their personal comfort and ready to follow a few basic rules so everyone leaves in harmony all together.

    Living in a house with 4 dogs and a dozen of cats requires regular cleaning to provide a clean and pleasant environnement. Volunteering here is not only about petting cats or dogs after a lie-in and a horse riding afternoon (the horses here aren't ridden any more) or a walk with 4 free dogs in the countryside (they escape, so they have to be kept on the leash), please keep this in mind before applying.

    As I live with many animals together, please consider that safety is my first preoccupation, so :
    - I don't host workawayers travelling with kids or animals :)
    - I need help from mature and autonomous people only,
    - I'll ask careless people to leave earlier than predicted.

    If you think you're fit to spend a while, I'll be glad to give you more details.

    Warm regards.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in a quiet place in the countryside surrounded by animals, observing how they behave and communicate and taking care of them with respect and love is very enriching. It's a rewarding way to get out personal comfort zone to learn focus, to put meditation into practice and develop empathy.
    I wouldn't define it as an experience, but a beginning of a switch from HAVING (experience, fun, holydays, a job, money, friends.....) to BEING (dedicated to other beings, patient, aware, kind... tired also sometimes!)
    I enjoy discussing so once the job is done, I will be available and happy to talk about spirituality, psychology, nutrition, energy healing, veganism and many other different topics.
    I can also teach French, vegan cooking, horse cares and show touristic places in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    Daily housekeeping, cooking, walking the dogs, horses cares, organic gardening and permaculture (there is a huge job to do, work in progress), trimming, pruning trees, reparing fence, painting, DIY jobs, cleaning the stable... Many different things to do regarding the weather or the season and the workawayers skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the house (shared with the dogs) or a coach in the living room (shared with some cats) as I share the only other bedroom with some ill cats.
    During the summer, if you have a tent, you can pitch it in the garden.
    We will have to share the bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can pick you up and bring you back to the bus or railway station when you arrive and leave.
    A car or a bike would be usefull to easily visit the beautiful landscape, small villages and manors of Perche. It is also a right place to hike.
    The house is small so I can only host volunteers one by one.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 d/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)






























Host ref number: 776176473589