Help a busy family interested in permaculture, gardening and cooking near Margate, Tasmania Australia



Favourited 103 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are Dan and Gem, a young couple with a 7 and 5 year old. We live on a 6 acre property a 5 min drive to the village of Margate and 20 min south of Hobart. We are developing our property following permaculture principles and aim to be as self sufficient as possible. Our property faces expansive views over native forest with an abundance of bird and wildlife. We have free range chickens and have big long term plans to develop a hobby farm.

    We are originally from the UK and emigrated to Australia 11 years ago. During this time we have lived in Sydney, Adelaide and for the 3 years in Tasmania. Dan is an environmental scientist working in Hobart with an interest in permaculture, outdoor sports and photography. Gem is a nurse working in a Hobart hospital. Her interests include sustainable living, cooking and growing vegetable.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy having people from all around the world stay with us and getting to know other cultures. We are happy to involve you in our daily life, so you'll get to meet locals and experience how we live. Meals will be provided and we can cater for vegetarians.

    Dan has completed a Permaculture Design Certificate, and we are both keen to pass on knowledge and continue learning while developing the property.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Help with everyday life including looking after the children for 2 days a week (during school holidays) or before and after school care/occasional help on other days (during the school term) helping with cooking, house work or gardening or anything you are interested in.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Private room in family home, shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of interesting and fun activities to do on your days off and in free time during the week, including forest walks and cycle tracks from the house, nearby waterfalls, local beaches, Bruny Island and other tourist activities. With Hobart only 20 minutes away, and we go there regularly, and can arrange for you to go and do sightseeing or shopping.

    We also have a couple of bicycles available for use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 775387346872