Discover the life of a vegetable farmer in Burgundy, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 136 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple of market gardeners, on a small farm in Burgundy. We grow, as a family (our son is 4 years old and our daughter is 8 months), all types of vegetables according to the seasons, and sell our products directly on the farm.
    We want to keep a method of cultivation as environmentally friendly as possible: we hand weed, use natural fertilizers ... We wish little by little, apply the principles of PERMACULTURE.
    We also have hens, raised outdoors. (as well as some goats, rabbits, cats and dogs, for fun!)

    We are looking for volunteers to help us on all kinds of work: planting, weeding, preparation of the vegetables for the shop ... help to build a new shed, for those who know how to tinker ...





    Nous sommes un couple de maraîchers, sur une petite ferme en Bourgogne. Nous cultivons, en famille (notre fils a presque 3 ans), tous types de légumes selon les saisons, et vendons nos produits directement à la ferme.
    Nous voulons conserver une méthode de culture aussi respectueuse de l'environnement que possible: nous désherbons à la main, utilisons des engrais naturels... Nous souhaitons petit à petit, appliquer les principes de la PERMACULTURE.
    Nous avons aussi des poules, élevées en plein air. (ainsi que quelques chèvres, lapins chats et chien, pour le plaisir!)

    Nous cherchons des volontaires pour nous aider sur toutes sortes de travaux: plantation, désherbage, préparation du magasin de vente... aide à la construction d'un nouveau hangar, pour ceux qui savent bricoler...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would be pleased to welcome people who want to discover the life of a vegetable farmer! We can take time for french lessons too. And we would be also pleased to help people to discover the lovely countryside of Burgundy!!
    We both traveled abroad (Canada, Philippines, Australia, Scotland...) few years ago, and we have wonderful memories from our experiences. We would be glad that someone makes us travel again by coming sharing our life for a while!

    Nous serions heureux d'accueillir des personnes qui veulent découvrir la vie d'un maraîcher! Nous pouvons également prendre le temps de cours de français. Et nous serions vraiment heureux de faire découvrir la belle campagne de Bourgogne !!
    Nous avons tous deux voyagé à l'étranger (Canada, Philippines, Australie, Ecosse ...) il y a quelques années, et nous avons de merveilleux souvenirs de nos expériences. Nous serions heureux que quelqu'un nous fasse voyager de nouveau en venant partager notre vie pendant quelques temps!

  • Help

    Help

    In any time, we need help for weeding, planting, and work at home.

    Please no smokers!

    We ask for someone who speaks well english, or french!



    En tout temps, nous avons besoin d'aide pour le désherbage, plantations,ou travaux dans la maison!

    Pas de fumeurs, merci.

    Nous aimerions quelqu'un qui parle bien anglais ou même français!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an independant mobile-home to welcome people.
    We welcome the volonteers at the bus station in Saint Marcel (once arrived at the train station in chalon sur Saône, there is 20 minutes by bus to Saint Marcel). It is the same for the way back.

    Nous prêtons un mobile-home pour accueillir les gens.
    Nous accueillons les volontaires à la sortie du bus à Saint Marcel (une fois arrivés à la gare de Chalon-sur-Saône, il faut prendre 20 minutes de bus jusqu'à Saint Marcel). Idem pour le retour.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in Burgundy, near CHALON-SUR-SAONE.
    There are so many castles to visit around! And the countryside is exceptional: famous wineyards of Burgundy, the Bresse (the Jura and his beautiful mountains is not far: 1h only!), Châlon-sur-Saône and its famous summer festivals...
    We have buses, to go around, and a train station. Moreover, we are at only 2 and a half hour by TGV from Paris for those who would like to enjoy the capital for one or two days...


    Nous sommes en Bourgogne, à côté de CHALON-SUR-SAONE.
    Il y a tellement de châteaux à visiter alentours! Et la campagne est exceptionnelle: les célèbres vignobles de Bourgogne, la Bresse (le Jura et ses belles montagnes ne sont pas loin: 1h seulement), Châlon-sur-Saône et ses célèbres festivals d'été ...
    Nous avons des bus, et une gare. De plus, nous sommes à seulement 2 heures 1/2 de Paris en TGV pour ceux qui voudraient profiter de la capitale pour un ou deux jours ...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week














Host ref number: 775156456778