Family with 2 young children seeking help in Lancaster


United Kingdom

Favourited 105 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Join now to contact this host
  • Description


    We do not need any volunteers now for the summer.

    If you are interested in coming in September or later in the year then please email us in July when we are back in the uk. Cheers

    We are a British family, with 2 young children. Otis is 1 and Finlay is 3. We have been workawayers in Europe for the last year and now are heading home to lancaster, north England. Debs loves languages and we would love to have someone spanish, portugese or french speaking in the house to speak with the kids, and to debs too.

    We are looking for someone to help out we the children, playing with them, speaking with them, taking them for walks etc. we would like someone who is interested in children, and happy to speak to them in either french/portugese/spanish. We would like the person to help out also with the washing and cooking, but don't worry you won't be expected to do it all!

    We would prefer someone to stay a minimum of a month, so that the children can get used to you and there is not lots of change in the house. Will consider couples and families. But there is a small double bedroom available, with space for one cot. If you have older children they could share our children's room as there is space.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lancaster is a great place for live music and it's only 10 minutes walk from our house into town. You can go walking in the local hills, and also the Lake District is only 1 hour drive, or 45 minutes by train. We love cycling so you are welcome to join us for family cycles, and walks too. You would learn how to be patient with 2 children! And you could improve your English by speaking with digs and other friends.

  • Help


    We want someone to play with the children. Often either digs or debs will be in the house, but would like to work upstairs while someone helps out by playing with the kids. We can be flexible about the times that you help, but would like someone who is flexible and can help some evenings also. Don't worry, the children should be in bed asleep by 7:30 though, so you will have your nights free from the kids. We have friends that visit and it's easy to pop into lancaster. We would like someone to help out also with the cooking and tidying, but the priority is helping to look after the kids.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, french and small bits of portugese and spanish

  • Accommodation


    Private room with double bed and shared bathroom and kitchen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This was Otis when he was 15months, the same age as his younger brother, Finlay is now. We all love cycling!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 774837943237