Help with our animals, garden and woods in Normandy, France



Favourited 81 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    Ken and I are English, retired and live in the depths of the Normandy countryside with our three sheep, five goats, three chickens, one cat and two very bossy guinea pigs. All our pets are our friends and grass cutters, we do not eat them!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a lovely part of the countryside, superb for walking or cycling and we have bicycles available. The nearest village is a couple of miles away. There is a bar there but it is only open a few nights a week. If you are looking for a lively nightlife we are not for you! There is wifi in the main house that you are welcome to use, but generally not in the cottage (thick stone walls).

  • Help


    We need someone to help us mainly in the garden, the vegetable patch and with the animals. We don't ask you to do anything we haven't or don't do, but we're getting older and no longer get round to doing it all.

    Typically we would need help mowing, strimming, weeding, digging, moving and sieving compost, cleaning out the animal shelters, helping Ken if any fences need doing, stacking wood and other small maintenance jobs. Though the llamas no longer live with us I feel sure a trip to their new home (where there are alpacas, ponies, donkeys - plus all the usual suspects (goats, poultry etc.) will be absolutely essential and you may like to join us.

    If the weather is too bad for outdoor work I am sure we could find some decorating that needs doing. We would be thinking about four or five hours a day five days a week, certainly not more so plenty of time to explore the area or do your own thing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic french

  • Accommodation


    You would be staying in a self contained small cottage next door to the main house. This is a one up one down with upstairs, one bedroom with twin beds, a shower room with toilet and wash basin.

    Downstairs there is a living area with a convertible bed-settee, table, chairs, kitchenette (fridge, microwave, kettle, three ring cooker, coffee maker). There are radiators throughout and a wood burner for colder weather.

    There is a television that you can watch DVDs on (not tv though). We would provide supplies for you to do your own breakfast in your cottage and generally expect that you will join us for lunch and evening meal in our house.

    We are not vegetarian but are quite used to cooking for vegetarians. We ask that you do not smoke either in the house or in the cottage

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The guest cottage
Mac, one of our friendly goats
Badger the llama ready for a walk
The local Mairie

Host ref number: 771251491129