Practice your English and or French and help with renovating my old farm house in the Alps, France

Country

France

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    785

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Born and raised in the UK I have recently bought, an am renovating, an old farm house in the french alps and have moved there full time. Its a 3 floor property with a garden with a lot of space and potential, but also a lot of work to do! Its a beautiful location right near the lac de serre poncon with a huge variety of outdoor activities available nearby. It's perfect for skiing (in the winter), cycling, hiking, and a whole array of watersports like windsurfing , kitesurfing, kayaking, paragliding, and many more ! As a skydiver I also enjoy the proximity to the dropzone at Tallard (30 mins by car).



    I speak both english and french, but would be great for someone wanting to practice either language as not many people around here speak english! Exact hours and jobs can be negotiated according to your strengths. please get in touch.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you enjoy outdoor activities and the mountains then you will fall in love with the place! For me, this area is like a big playground and there are never ending things to do. Its in a small village right next to a working sheep farm so you will get a taste of authentic french village life. The towns nearby are the quintessential french towns with cute restaurants and shops. Its also a great opportunity to learn or improve on your french. I will happily speak either french or english to you. A love of the outdoors and a willingness to problem solve and get involved is important too. Happy to show you around the area or explore together in exchange for some help making this project come to life.

  • Help

    Help

    Jobs that need doing include:
    - carpentry
    - gardening
    - building
    - plumbing
    - decorating
    - general cleaning and sorting (the house has been left by the previous owner with lots of stuff in it!)

    I'm building the place to use as holiday rental so any expertise with photography or marketing could be useful too.
    I don't expect you to be able to help with all of this, no experience is necessary, but if you have any previous skills let me know.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french and english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation and food would be provided with at least your own room and running water, with shared kitchen facilities. This will depend on the time you decide to come because i'm working on it all the time! There is a separate apartment upstairs that you would stay in that has a bathroom with cold water at the moment , and shower facilities downstairs ( this may change - but only for the better!). I have one working kitchen currently ( the plan is for 3 eventually) so I would provide the food and we can prepare it together. Own transport would be an advantage but not essential.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have previously worked in volunteer schemes like this and had a wonderful time, and this will be my first time in the role of a host. I hope that I can give you a great experience of the french alps in exchange for some help with my new project.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day 5 days a week



Host ref number: 769552989112