Semi Rural Semi Renovated Work Away an hour north of Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/03/2020

 
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Kiwi / English couple in our early 30s, with a dog (Poppy) and a very friendly goat named Jeff. We have bought a house 1 hour north of Auckland city that we are currently renovating - so everything here is functional, but not complete, so there is plenty of labour required!

    We have a 1/3 acre section that was very neglected for 20 years (lots of rubbish to be cleared), lots of painting to do. Ideally you have a license and can drive. We have a van that you will use to take things to landfill.

    Johnny owns a range of natural cleaning products and works from home most days - some help maybe required in the manufacturing, packaging and labeling of our products. Caz works in IT so is out of the house most days.

    Free accommodation - 3 hours per day.
    Free accommodation + food - 5 hours per day.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are friendly "typical kiwi" hosts. We're pretty cruisy and appreciate a beer or wine after work. We live in a beautiful spot 20-30 minutes from great east coast surf beaches. We often go camping in our van too - so can provide a lot of help on good places to go freedom camping.

  • Help

    Help

    We have lots of garden space that needs to be cleared of weeds and years of rubbish that has been left behind, then taken to the tip (we have a manual van you can use - driver's license required)
    General maintenance. Lawns etc.
    A small and a large shed that require washing and painting.
    Digging to be done for drainage.
    Johnny owns a range of natural cleaning products, so help may be required for manufacturing, packaging and labeling products.
    There is a van here to be converted into a camper.
    House clean once per week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 Double room available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Come and stay in a friendly house in a safe neighbourhood with many beaches and tourist attractions close by, e.g. Port Albert, Mangawhai, Goat Island, Matakana, Leigh, Pakiri, Puhoi and Kawau Island. Auckland is also an hour's drive away with the potential to borrow a vehicle on some days,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    At Least 3 per day


Host ref number: 764594671618