Volunteers needed in Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

updated  

Favourited 635 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    87  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome!

    We're a quiet and cosy Guesthouse situated at the heart of George Town, Penang. Only 5 minutes away from some of Penang's best street food and the famous street arts.

    The hostel itself is a newly renovated heritage home and features the original brickwork. Our living room is super cosy and comfy, people often chill there while trying to runaway from the heat.

    Our facilities are:
    - 4 Shared Bathrooms
    - 1 Mixed dorm
    - 1 Female dorm
    - 1 Single room
    - 5 Double rooms
    - Small kitchen
    - Living room

    What do we need help with?
    - Check-in and Check-out
    - House Keeping
    - Pet sitting
    - Help our Guests

    Hours expected:
    - Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

    In exchange for your help, we'd like to offer you:
    - Free accommodation (3 Bed dorm with Fan)

    The work has been split in two shifts, morning and afternoon.
    - Morning from 8.30am to 13:30pm
    - Afternoon from 13:30pm to 18:30pm

    The work that we need help with is really easy, I'm sure you'll enjoy our place!

    Please note that we're not a party hostel. If you're looking for that, we're not your best option (Sorry, not sorry).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our location is what you are going to benefit the most. We're literally 5 minutes away from many famous places including street food, markets, museums, attractions, street art, just check it on google map, I'm sure you'll enjoy it!

    This guesthouse is all about preserving the memories of the building, expressing the detailing, creating a natural, comfortable and authentic interior which appears to be a joy to occupy. All effort has been made to preserve as much of the character of the existing building as possible. Existing features have been left untouched while new circulation has been added. The interior retains traces of its previous incarnations in the form of sections of exposed beams, brickwork and aged door. Those incredible worn walls were simply left to be as they are – patchy and broken – without the need to make them perfect by restoring or covering them up.

  • Help

    Help

    We are seeking for a responsible, friendly, and passionate individual to help at our Guesthouse.

    Duties would include:

    - Check-in/check-out
    We'll show you how our system works and how to proceed with the check-in/out of our guests. We expect you to be responsible for these task.

    - House keeping & General cleaning
    Helping us keep the Guesthouse tidy and clean on daily basis. Please note that we do have permanent staff who cleans the Guesthouse on a daily basis, we just ask for your help on their day off. For example, early in the morning, you should check if there is enough toilet paper and soap in all bathrooms. As mentioned, there will be a person who does the cleaning on daily basis, he also helps during the check out time by cleaning and making the beds but, eventually, you might need to help him. Mostly just to make sure everything is neat and tidy.

    - Helping guests
    As you're going to be around here, you shall become able to help our guests from helping them to find a place to eat or even helping them book their bus to their next destination.

    We're happy to say that there's no hard work here, but it is important that you are responsible, reliable and open.

    The work has been split in two shifts, morning and afternoon.
    - Morning from 8.30am to 13:30pm
    - Afternoon from 13:30pm to 18:30pm

    Let us know if you have any question or concern, I'm sure we can sort it out.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & Malay

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In exchange for your help, we'd like to offer you:
    - Free accommodation (3 Bed dorm with Fan)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please note that we are:
    - 10 to 15 minutes walk from the ferry terminal
    - 5 to 10 minute walk away from public bus transit station.
    - Centrally located between Little India and Chinese Market
    - Many museums, backpackers streets, coffee shops, and restaurants nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week (no food)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)


















































Host ref number: 762216235159