Looking for help with yardwork in Rocky Mountains in Boulder Colorado.

Country

United States

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a widowed father with 3 daughters. My wife passed away 2 years ago. All of my girls are fully fledged. I am a private client jeweler that is working on being retired. I have a dog. I love to cook and frequently host and attend dinner parties.

    I am an early riser (6:00- 7:00 am) and enjoy my morning quiet time, reading the paper and walking our dog before jumping into the work day.

    I love to work in the garden but find it difficult due to joint problems in my knees. My home is adjacent to open space on the edge of the foothills of the Rocky Mountains in Boulder, Colorado. From my home you can access many dozens of miles of beautiful hiking trails and bike paths. You can also walk 2/3 mile and catch a bus anywhere. Denver is a 40 minute bus ride away. Forty minutes north of us is Rocky Mountain National Park and hiking trails, camping, fishing and skiing. There are also 15 golf courses within a 30 minute drive. Boulder is home to the University of Colorado, wonderful restaurants and a vibrant recreation and art scene. It's a beautiful place.

    Over the past 10 years I have hosted Rotary exchange students from Denmark, Belgium, Romania and Croatia and greatly enjoy meeting new people and traveling the world.

    Life with me would provide some time together with lots of independent time when I am out at social and community engagements which generally have me out 3-4 nights/week. I hope that my workaway guest(s) will join me for dinner when I'm home and, otherwise, as with breakfast and lunch, prepare and enjoy their own meals.

    My needs for workaway visitor(s) are 1) 1-2 weeks in late April/early May and 1-2 weeks in late October/early November. I understand this is very limited and would appreciate only hearing from interested workawayers who can match these timeframes, and who are qualified to help with our work requirements.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for help with yard & grounds work. With nearly an acre of land, there's a lot of area to clear out and clean up. I've have lived in this home for about 6 years and a half and I want to start redesigning the yard. In addition to clean up work, in the upcoming months we need help with, 1) building a new fence, 2) clearing out part of the front yard and prep for landscape redesign and 3) some random painting. This are my primary needs. If the workawayer also can help with website work and miscellaneous home "fix-its", all the better!

    Additionally, in late October/early November, I want help clearing leaves and winter grounds preparation as well as restaining the deck. Again, while it isn't my primary need, website work would be helpful.

    I am happy to be very flexible with how my workawayers want to work at my home: 4-5 hours/day for 5 days or full 8 hour days for 3 days so as to have time to be out and about in the Boulder area.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My home is light filled and has a large deck from which to enjoy the weather and views of the mountains. The guest room is on the lower level, is quite private and has it's own bath.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a beautiful town in a beautiful state. Go to to get additional information about Boulder. It is a very physically fit place as most people enjoy outdoor activities. There are also more certified sommeliers per capita here than any other town in the world, the restaurants are plentiful and good and the Farmer's Market is fantastic.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4- 5 hours a day/5 days a week with a flexible schedule


Host ref number: 761462843937