Wonderful Waiheke Workaway Experience!

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 138 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there. We are Charlie and Mo and we live on the beautiful Waiheke Island (30mins from Auckland) with our two girls who are (nearly) 10 and 8 years old.

    We have a lovely, spacious home on an acre section with a beautiful outlook back to Auckland city. Waiheke has many wonderful beaches and bush walks... not to mention world-class vineyards.

    We have had some great experiences with Workaway over the past few years with people helping us achieve things we just didn't have the time to do ourselves. Over the next few months (Oct-Dec 2021) we will be looking for support to prepare our home for holiday renters who come to Waiheke during it's 'busy season' (late Dec - Feb)

    Jobs we need assistance with will be gardening, water-blasting, spring-cleaning (inside and outside!) maybe some touch-up painting. The list always seems to grow!

    So if you are keen, motivated, friendly and a good worker please do contact us.

    Ideally we would like:
    - a couple (or two friends) so you can work together
    - people who are physically fit (we live on a steep property and at times the landscaping can be challenging)
    - people who are strong to help with some of the lifting of firewood
    - 25+ years old (this is for insurance for our car which you may be asked to drive from time to time)
    - people who are looking to stay 4-6 days, working 4 hours per day

    What we have to offer:
    - easy going, fun, professional family (2 mums, 2 girls)
    - super comfortable double bed (we can arrange an extra single bed for friends) in your own room (or this maybe in our caravan depending on timing as we are currently using our spare room as our home-office)
    - Wifi
    - Occasional use of car
    - Breakfast, lunch and dinner (in exchange for 4 hours work each per day)

    Please note we do have a couple of cats so not ideal for allergy sufferers (unless of course you have antihistamines!)

    We look forward to hearing from you.
    Charlie & Mo

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with our family will provide an opportunity to live with a fun and relaxed kiwi family who are both passionate about traveling and knowledgeable about our country.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General help outside the property includes gardening, water-blasting, possibly chopping & stacking firewood, painting. On rainy/wet days we may ask you to help with some spring-cleaning including windows, walls/skirting boards, dusting etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on our work loads you will either have your own room within our home with double bed and separate balcony area OR the use of our small caravan which has a super comfy (but small) double bed. We will provide full board including evening meal together with our family. It is anticipated you will help yourself to breakfast and lunch as we both work and may not be at home during the day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty of activities to do and sites to be seen on Waiheke Island. We have numerous vineyards, wonderful walks and some of the best white-sand beaches in the world. Waiheke is a very multi-cultural and artistic community and there seems to be something here for everyone. You are welcome to use our kayaks, bikes, pool etc when you are not working.

    We love our home and like to think we have created a little piece of paradise for the kids and adults alike. During the week we work long hours but our weekends are mainly spent at home and often shared with friends. We look forward to welcoming you into our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can possibly arrange off-street area for your camper van by moving our old caravan... please, let's chat!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day (per guest)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 754968135737