Come and help with the restoration of an old farmhouse in Simrismhamn, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 274 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    329

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five, living our life at an old farm house in Southern Sweden accompanied by five hens, a horse a dog and a bunch of cats. The house needs restoration together with the barns and the big garden, we also need help in the household and with riding/ training our horses. We're only two kilometer away from the closest beach, surrounded by beautiful farmland in a rural part of South East Skåne.

    Please note that we may be lousy in replying to messages :( but we try to compensate by beeing pretty descent hosts :). If you don't get a reply back from us its only that we don't have our Workaway-radar on at that time, keep sending us requests we love getting them and will try to write back as good as we can.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The answer lays in the question. To share ideas, work and meals with new acquaintances is all together an enriching and learning experience for everyone !

  • Help

    Help

    General tasks include horse training, carpentry, building, painting, general maintenance and gardening.
    Preferably we also need help with daily horse back riding,

    Soon spring! and we need help planting the vegetable garden as well as some outdoor painting. If you're used to woodwork there is also need to restore old doors to the barns.

    This years main objectives
    - Repainting the main house
    - Repainting the big barn
    - Refresh of stable and workshop areas

    There may also be assistance need for artists staying temporary at the farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate guest accomodation with a bedroom upstairs and kitchen and bathroom downstairs, or during winter guest room in the main house but anyhow a bit separated with its own toilet. Normally we have dinners together in the main house, but no strict times etcetera.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Österlen as it's called locally is a very beautiful area with several beautiful nature sanctuaries and beaches surrounded by open fields.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Host ref number: 749122473256