Green thumbs/ gardening loving Workawayers to come stay and share stories with, in Munster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 227 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, my name is Maggie, I live in Kilcornan County Limerick . I grow wheatgrass and sell it at the weekly market in Limerick city every Saturday. I live in an old country farm house with acres of land. I live with my sister Carol and my two children, Ellie who is sixteen and Oliver who is thirteen. Both at our local school where I help out and have set up a garden and teach kids how to grow. We have a friendly sheepdog called Jessie who lives inside the house with us. I also have a 4 hens and a rooster called ringo.

    I take on gardening jobs and maintain the garden at the a hotel in Limerick.
    I love gardening and growing fruit and vegetables and eating fresh daily.

    We love cycling and there's a forest park near us. Also there is also an animal farm near us. There is a leisure centre for swim or sauna. My brother runs the family farm with dry stock cattle and a couple of donkeys. We also have apple trees. We are a 4 km cycle from the Shannon estuary. I would love some help and company in our house and garden. I'm the wheatgrass fairy.

    Looking forward to meeting new friends and learning more

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    learn about gardening, planting, seed saving, ...learn english n gaeilge......learn to deal with the public at the weekly market...learn about wheatgrass...learn about Ireland...trad music ..ceili dancing..

  • Help

    Help

    We need a volunteer to help 4 to 5 hours. Tidying garden and cleaning house and planting wheatgrain for the Saturday market. Weeding and eating my veg from garden. Strimming and cleaning yard. Help with dinners washing painting playing and cooking..oh and dancing ...as I'm working part time I need someone to work on their own initiative.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Their own single room with desk. Internet access. Share bathroom, kitchen and living room. Sky tv. Wii and PlayStation 3 washing machine n dryer. Fresh air lovely walls..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Walking, cycling, swimming. Come to markets...singing dancing.....playing board games and card games. Cinema trips.....Curraghchase forest park and cafe.. city trips. Stonehall visitor farm near by..Rigneys farm... Deliveries to health food shops..visits to local organic college drumcollogher, county Limerick. Family trips...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 748945241953