Learn about market gardening, self-sufficiency and DIY-crafts from ex-workawayers near Hamburg, Germany

  • Germany
  • Favourited 125 times
  • Last activity: 24/01/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    It was in 2017, when we looked for nice hosts on workaway for our europe-trip like you do today. We spent some awesome months on serveral farms and finally made the conclusion to quit our office jobs and move to the landside.

    Today we are happy to change from the volunteer-side to the host-side!
    We are Johanna and Konstantin (early 30s) and have two little Sons.

    We live in an almost 300 year old half-timbered house together with Johanna's grandmother. We have a lot of space for dreams and ideas on the surrounding five hectares of land. Our goal for the future to set up a Market Gardening Farm where we grow vegetables in a small scale and sell it directly to the people around. But at the moment we don't sell anything and just grow for self-sufficiency.

    Man schrieb das Jahr 2017, als wir genau wie du auf Workaway nach einem tollen Host für unseren Europatrip suchten. Wir verbrachten tolle Monate mit großartigen Menschen und fassten den Entschluss: Bürojob adé, auf zum Selbstversorgertum!

    Heute sind wir in der glücklichen Lage, selbst als Host bei Workaway auftreten zu können!
    Wir heißen Johanna und Konstantin, sind Anfang 30 und haben zwei kleine Söhne. Unser Hof liegt in der Lüneburger Heide in Niedersachsen.

    Wir wohnen in einem fast 300 Jahre altem Fachwerkhaus zusammen mit Johannas Großmutter. Auf den umliegenden 5 Hektar Land haben wir viel Platz für Träume und Ideen. Unser Ziel für die Zukunft ist es, eine Gemüsegärtnerei zu gründen, auf der wir biointensiven Gemüsebau betreiben. Das Gemüse soll dann direkt in der Umgebung vermarktet werden. Im Moment bereiten wir unsere Gründung nur vor und bauen Gemüse für die Selbstversorgung an.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We ourselves were volunteers at various farms to explore a new direction in life for us. At that time we gave up our full-time office jobs in the big city to make a fresh start. We know the feeling that we have not yet found the right place in life and we know how difficult it is to break out of a status quo that is uncomfortable.

    In the past three years we have accumulated a broad knowledge of nature, the natural cultivation of fruits and vegetables, and chicken farming. Self-sufficiency is also an important topic for us in the household. For example, we make our detergent ourselves and bake bread every week.

    Wir waren selbst als Volunteers auf verschiedenen Höfen, um für uns eine neue Richtung im Leben auszuloten. Damals gaben wir unsere Vollzeit-Bürojobs in der Großstadt auf, um einen Neuanfang zu machen. Wir kennen das Gefühl, noch nicht den richtigen Platz im Leben gefunden zu haben und wissen wie schwer es ist, aus einem vermeindlich bequemen Status Quo auszubrechen.

    In den letzten drei Jahren haben wir ein breites Wissen über die Natur, den naturnahen Anbau von Obst und Gemüse, sowie der Hühnerhaltung angehäuft. Auch im Haushalt ist Selbstversorgung ein wichtiges Thema für uns. Zum Beispiel machen wir unser Waschmittel selber und backen jede Woche Brot.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Daily help : animal care, cleaning the house (just the rooms you use), seasonal Gardening, babysitting

    current projects (02/2022); renovating a old pigstable, preparing beds in the garden, building a washing place for vegetables, building a little hut near the vegetable beds

    future projects: renovate the housewalls, building a cob-oven, Renew the Stabledoors, ...

    Tägliche Arbeiten: Tiere versorgen, Hausarbeiten, Gartenarbeit je nach Saison, Babysitting

    Aktuelle Projekte (Stand 02/2022): alten Schweinestall entkernen, Beetvorbereitung im Gemüsegarten, Gemüse-Waschplatz bauen, Unterstand am Gemüsefeld bauen

    Zukünftige Projekte: Fachwerkwände Stück für Stück erneuern, Lehmofen bauen, Stalltüren erneuern,...

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    As soon as the temperatures allow it, we have a large caravan in the yard that can be occupied by a volunteer or a couple. inside of the house the volunteers have their own bathroom with shower.

    We all eat together and who likes to cook can also let off steam!

    There will only be one volunteer (or just a couple) with us at the same time.


    Sobald es die Temperaturen zulassen, haben wir einen großen Wohnwagen auf dem Hof stehen, der von einem Volunteer oder einem Pärchen bewohnt werden kann. Im Haus gibt es dann ein eigenes Bad mit Dusche.

    Wir essen alle zusammen und wer kochen mag, kann sich auch gern austoben!

    Es wird immer nur ein Volunteer (oder halt ein Pärchen) gleichzeitig bei uns sein.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In addition to the soothing tranquility of our village, there is a small spa town (Bad Bevensen) with shopping facilities (all typical supermarkets) 5 km away. The Hanseatic cities of Lüneburg and Uelzen are within a 20 km radius. Lüneburg in particular is worth a trip! Hamburg can be reached by train in 40 minutes and is a highlight in every season.

    Neben der wohltuenden Ruhe unseres Dörfchens, gibt es in 5 km Entfernung eine kleine Kurstadt (Bad Bevensen) mit Einkaufsmöglichkeiten (alle typischen Supermärkte) und einem Thermalbad mit tollem Saunabereich. Im Umkreis von 20 km liegen die Hansestädte Lüneburg und Uelzen. Vor allem Lüneburg ist einen Ausflug wert! Hamburg ist mit dem Zug in 40 Minuten erreichbar und ein Highlight zu jeder Jahreszeit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fiber internet now (more than 100mbit)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 748869858419

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Old farmhouse in beautiful Eastfrisia, Germany
Help our family with Permaculture and vegetable garden in Eltville am Rhein, Germany