French life for multicultural Workawayers in Poitou Charentes

Country

France

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    150

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family , two adults & our two children, 19 & 21, who are currently studying during term time & also learning Spanish. We live in the Deux Sevres department of the Nouvelle Aquitaine region, of western France.
    Whilst in a rural setting, it is only a 5 minute drive/15 min walk to the nearest town, where there are bars, Cafe & small shops .
    Our property , a large 4 bedroomed, former farmhouse, has a hectare of land, comprising of field & garden with fruit trees. We have free ranging hens & ducks, goats , a small dog & a pony.
    I like to grow my own food when possible & we also raise chickens & ducks for fresh eggs & meat & sometimes lambs too.
    We would welcome someone to help with various tasks including gardening, painting, cooking & small diy projects & who would like to improve their English or French or possibly help us with Spanish conversation.
    We enjoy music , films, BBQs & outdoor activities , football, walking, canoeing, horse riding & archery.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Increased knowledge & confidence in speaking another language & trying new foods & recipes.

  • Help

    Help

    We may need help with any of the following, gardening, weeding, strimming & fencing, helping with animals, cleaning out the hens, fruit picking jet washing, preparation for painting & light housework. Cooking is welcome, to share new recipes & ideas but not a necessary requirement. I like to bake cakes, make preserves etc from fruit in the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom with double bed & ensuite shower room, is available on the ground floor of our house, with shared family facilities ie lounge & kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Within walking distance, there is the town with 2 bars/cafes, restaurants, pharmacy, Drs , swimming pool. There are buses to the larger town of Niort, where there are lots of shops, cafes & bars.There is also a train station.
    We are conscious about the environment & try to be Eco friendly where possible. We respect others & request that it is reciprocated in our home. Smoking is not permitted in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day,5 days a week.

Host ref number: 746937142178