Join our dream - life out in the countryside, lakedistrict Mecklenburgische Seenplatte, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 161 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    That's us: a young family of four, Auriel and Lea with our kids Baldur and Alvar. Two years ago we decided to take a chance and change our lifes into what we had wanted for some time:

    Leave the city (Berlin) and move out into the countryside and start our own project. Living closer to nature and do as much as we can by our own.
    We used to live in two old cozy wooden trailers which used to belong to a circus. They are now free to sleep in at our place.

    Our Idea was to rebuild an old countryhouse into a guesthouse, B&B, cafe, yoga room, bakery, garden, and so on.

    We want to create a place where everyone is welcome and everyone can be as they are.

    And we want to do as much ourselfs as we can. Grow food, bake bread, create a tradechain with local farmers, build everything by our own, and much more.

    But doing all of that, we still want to enjoy our life, be out in the nature, go swimming, and still travel here and there and don't forget the bigger picture.

    We are almost finished with rebuilding the old house and opened our café already and the first guestrooms!

    *** we are looking for help at home as childcare/household/gardening help ***

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a big garden where we grow some vegetables and fruit and spend most of the time when we are not working.
    We try to stick to a daily routine of set meal-times, more or less set sleeping times for Baldur and Alvar.

    Lea is a professional german teacher for adults. So everyone who is keen to get some insight into our language, this is the opportunity.

    We do yoga from time to time or go swimming in the lake.

    Other than building the Guesthouse we try to enjoy the life here in the nature and have some free time here and there. And get the work-life-balance straight.

    Berlin is around 100km away and we go there roughly once a month.

    But other than that we are always open for new things and suggestions to do or make and are happy to show you around and do some nice trips.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We started to create our place out here in the countryside so there are a lot of tasks in many different varieties.
    There is DIY, gardening, childcare, household, and so on.

    We are happy to show you what we do and can do. But we are also very interested in you showing us your skills.

    For example we are very interested in learning about permaculture, maybe redesigning our garden into that.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For everyone how wants to stay with us we built a wooden house with two rooms and a double bed each.
    So there is a nice private space for you.
    The kitchen and bathroom facilities have to be shared.

    We like to cook and use all organic ingedients and like to have all the meals together, nevertheless everyone can have their own mealtime.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a car which you can use to explore the environment, but within walking distance there are lakes, fields, forest, you can go hiking, cycling, swimming, boat riding, etc.

    The train to Berlin goes every hour from the next town 20min away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a steady wi-fi which allows every task up to a videocall - just watching movies, playing games oder up-/ downloading big data is tricky. But eventually the german countryside will have a proper internet connection!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We'll get your camper parked somewhere!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    tell us with which pet you are travelling and we are trining to find a solution!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    around 5 hours/day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 746862898294