Help us take care of our horses and the house while exploring multicultural environment in Štikada, Croatia

  • Favourited 121 times
  • Last activity: 21 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a multinational family (parents and three daughters, 20, 13 and 11 years old) that travels the world but we decided to spend some time living in a village in the mountains of Lika, Croatia.
    Our two younger daughters agreed to come to live in the village under the condition to buy them horses. We fulfilled their wish and bought them two horses to ride.
    We built a beautiful family house and are surrounded with the nature. The house is in the mountains but only about half an hour away from the Croatian seaside.
    I am Croatian, my husband is half English and half French. Our children often say that they are Africans.
    We lived most of our family life in Africa.
    Our children grew up in Burundi, Uganda, DR Congo, Kenya and in Jordan. We integrated many African values to our family.
    We have knowledge in many areas that come from our professional lives but also our hobbies and we are never “stingy” when it comes to sharing our knowledge with anyone who is willing to learn.
    Besides just enjoying the life in the nature, we are planing to start building an eco camp and help the local community to benefit from it as well.
    We want to share our diplomatic, humanitarian and multicultural experience with the community and anyone joining us on this path. But most importantly we need someone who has good experience with the horses and is trustworthy with children.
    We want to be in peace when our daughters are with the horses and they will have plenty of time to spend with them. But we also want the horses to be well taken care of.
    We also got a dog. He is still a puppy but he behaves well and respecting the house rules. He is very friendly with the people and enjoys playing with our cat.
    We like to be surrounded with people who share the values of true humanity, are hardworking and able to adapt to different situations, have passion to preserve the nature and live with it.
    We keep our house and its surroundings clean and tidy and that’s very important for us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer living in multilingual (English, French, Croatian) and truly multicultural environment.
    We have experience and are willing to share our knowledge in many areas as we worked as humanitarians and diplomats around the world but besides that have lots of other skills. Some of those are photography, woodworking, music, farming……
    The area where we stay in Croatia is very interesting with the mix of nationalities. We also have many friends around the world who come and stay with us that are doing speleology, diving etc.
    Opportunity to meet new people from around the world and from different professional areas is excellent with us.
    Development of the projects, studying various environmental impacts to the nature, meeting local and international people, preserving the nature, traveling around the area, proximity to the coast, being part of the start-up project…….

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for, preferably, young(er) person that speaks some English at least.

    Someone that is ready to invest in growing her/himself and develop or learn many skills. We just need experience with the horses and horse riding, passionate, positive and cheerful person. The rest will come on its own.

    Riverdance and Atilla (horses) are beautiful and calm. They are trained in western riding but our youngest daughter is trying to train them in English riding and some jumping The horses are raised in the way of natural horsemanship which we would like to continue.

    We would appreciate some help around the house too. Just helping hand in any work that we do as a family (lawn mowing, clearing the bushes, tidying up etc.)

    The work with the horses would be feeding, grooming, riding with the girls (and/or alone), mucking and stable management and all other things that go with the horses.

    It would be great if we could get some help with the girls when my husband and I need to travel.
    Just making sure that they attend their online lessons regularly, eat and sleep on time and are safe.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Hungarian: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer accommodation in our house. The bathroom would be shared with the children.
    There is also possibility (we are now in process of identifying the suitable place) that we will have a separate apartment in a nearby small town to accommodate anyone who will come and help us and possibly to accommodate the couples.
    We will be able to provide three meals a day. We strive to eat healthy and even though we are not vegans, we eat lots of vegan/vegetarian type of food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local transportation is not available right in the village.
    The train station is about 2-3km away from our house and the bust station around 5km.
    You can reach big coastal city, Zadar in one hour by bus from us.
    We have internet in our house.
    The closest town is small but has all that one needs. This includes supermarket, post office, pharmacy, medical facility, some bars and restaurants….

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space to park a campervan or similar.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only for living outside and friendly pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 744724597185

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Community builds a self-sustainable eco-village, blending life in nature with arts and education on Vis Island, Croatia
Join our family and help us at home in Split, Croatia