General maintenance help wanted in Durban, South Africa. Wild Life, Surfing, Dive with Sharks, Bunjee Jump and many more

Country

South Africa

updated  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Firstly, A Big Big Sorry for being out of the radar especially if I have not gotten back to you.

    I have spent the last year travelling and volunteering.

    I am third generation Indian. I have a media background. I quit my job to travel.

    I want to restore my late grandparents home.

    The house is over eighty years old and was a one bedroom house as part of the group areas act which separated the different race groups and did not allow for people of color to live in comfort.

    My granddad was a chef in the navy and did not earn a lot of money but slowly added more rooms to the house.

    The main house needs attention, and a new roof.

    My focus is maintenance on the cottages so I can rent them out.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience the East Coast of South Africa, and the group areas act implemented by apartheid you will experience living in an Indian community. The weather is warm, beaches close by and great for surfing.The province is known as the Zulu Kingdom due to the native African Zulu speaking tribes.Durban has a lot of history surrounding the arrivals of Indians in South Africa as indentured labourers and since then the Indian community has added into the diversity and economic growth of South Africa, from food to culture.

    Things to do: Wild Life, Surfing, Dive with Sharks, Bunjee Jump of Moses Mabida Stadium,Watch the rugby,play golf,hike, experience the townships.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with painting, and tiling two cottages. Maintaining an old home of my grandparents. I also need a solution and repair to the damp part of one interior wall.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a spare bedroom. Unfortunately food is not provided for.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 744556615226