Help with some maintenance in our traditional French farm house in Argentat-sur-Dordogne, France

Country

France

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    We are a Dutch couple living at a very traditional French farm house, surrounded by nature and very close to the charming little town of Argentat-sur-Dordogne in the beautiful lower mountains of South-Central France. See:

    It is a Unesco nature protected area. From this hill slope you have a view over a section of the beautiful Dordogne river, very known for it’s canoeing tracks.

    We have two mountainbikes (male & female) available.
    During the high season we have a spacious swimming pool warmed up by solar pannels and naturally cleaned by a UV-installation.

    During the season we have a double bedroom available with it’s own bathroom. From half september until 1st of june we have one of our gites to your disposal with all the comfort and privacy you need.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange:

    We have seen different parts of the world and speak Dutch, English, French and German.

    We were professional art teachers (painting and sculpture) who also teach and practice philosopy and meditation.

    Only if you are interested we can practise these diciplines with you, if our teaching time will be compensated by your working hours.

    Furthermore these beautiful surroundings offer great possibilities concerning sports activities such as hiking and biking, and the acquaintance of the lifestyle and architecture in these typical and pure rural settings of hamlets and age old litte towns. Be aware that we are located on a hill slope, but you may bike, run or walk for hours near the flat riverside.

  • Help

    Help

    The help we need:

    Normally the gites are run by themseves, but we always have some maintenance work as gardening with the use of small electric apparatus, painting and reparing the joints of the walls with natural stones.

    If you have computer skills or any practical skills, such as repairing machines and apparatus, they are also very welcome. Helping in the house or cooking once in a while as an on-the-side activity is also welcome of course.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Duch, French and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    First of all we do moderately eat fish but not meat and we expect from our Workaway guests that they do the same. Smoking in the house is not allowed for health and security reasons.

    We also are very moderate in drinking alcohol. For the rest we embrace life to it’s fullest and are always in for a joke and a serious or philosophical discussion.

    If you are a couple or two or more friend you are vert welcome; however you’re also very welcome if you travel alone.

    We have a double bedroom available in the house with it’s own bathroom. From about half september until 1st of june we have one of our gites to your disposal with all the comfort and privacy you need.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Thus is the place to be if you like to exchange your ideas or culture. Also if you like the beauty of nature and the rural French coutryside; or the silence of a retreat.

    We can take you by car to Argentat-sur-Dordogne and pick you up again. We often take a walk in the neighbourhood and are happy to show you around or make a day trip.

    Furtermore there are all sorts of possible activities, such as walking, biking, swimming, canoeing etc.

    You may enjoy the charming countryside from several high view points, here or take an easel to draw or paint the landscape of work rom your imagination.

    It’s a nice place for creation and reflection.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 743734579376