Come and help on a small farm near Bergen, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 705 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in little farm with 70 sheep, 3 small mascot goats, 2 horses , chickens, ducks, a dog and a cat.
    This beautiful island is surrounded by fjords and only 35 minutes from Bergen.

    Now it is me and my husband on the farm, our 3 grown-up children have moved out.
    We rent our old farmhouses to tourists. We sometimes have weekend/holiday activities for children with troubled background.

    From March to June: We need help with small restoring, painting houses, cleaning houses for the tourist season, feeding animals.
    In July/August we can only have ww for 1-2 weeks when its time to harvest and dry the grass, because the houses are filled up with tourists. Then you have a room with private bathroom in our house.

    We would allso be very happy to have a carpenter to help with our mountain cottage, or someone that can handle a chainsaw, to clear forest in a pasture area near the farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn about the Norwegian way of farming, especially in the fjord area. Also about nature, food and habits.
    We speak quite well english and can learn you a little norwegian.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Painting
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Other

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in one of the farmhouses if they are available, or in a room in our house with your own bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is great nature here, lot of trails up in the mountains. Fishing in freshwater. It is also different local activities to join.
    The bus to Bergen 5-7 times a day gives a lot of possibilities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 742742931355