Help bring our garden back to its former glory in a small lovely village near Parthenay, France



Favourited 13 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    We are early 50's ( young at heart ) Ex-pat British married couple living in Western France we have one grown up son who lives in London. We moved to our present home 3 years ago, taking on a building and garden project with a lot of potential, This is very time consuming as my husband still works part time too. We want to put in a proper bathroom upstairs at some point as the current one is a small toilet and shower room. The whole house needs re decorating.
    In our large We need to get the garden fence and galvanised 5 bar gate up.
    We already began landscaping the garden 3 summers ago and have a summer kitchen cabin with bbq and plunge pool in the garden, as well as a Koi pond which needs enlarging ( on of the jobs ) and moving to another area away from the trees because of the leaf fall in autumn. We are also planning a large wagon wheeled shaped raised veggie plot with a central green house for this spring/summer and although we do have a mini digger, rotavator, etc, we could really do with a hand, my husband fell off the roof 17 months ago and badly broke his foot.

    It's a great little house with a fantastic garden and we hope it will be a great workaway for you.
    It's very peaceful and we have free ranging Chickens and Rabbits! in our landscaped garden. It's generally very warm here in summer and beautiful.

    We have a lot of pets, 12 cats, 7 Chickens, 5 guinea pigs, two rabbits and loads of fish, so an animal lover is essential.

    This area is full of ancient history and architecture. also wildlife and flowers. great for photography or painting.

    Cycling is easy, as it's relatively flat here on the French plains.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience living the French way of life, not the holiday side. We live in a very pretty area with loads of cycling, great for photography ( wildlife) or painting, lots of lovely walks along the nearby river or Lake. Good shopping in three towns all about the same distance from us and of course our local town 3 kms away with most amenities.

  • Help


    We have a house in a small lovely village in western France, near the large town of Parthenay, we are renovating it to bring it back to it's former glory! We were doing this ourselves but some major heath issues in the last 3 years have slowed us right down. My husband is a builder by trade but has had a heart attack 3 years ago and so can't work as hard as he could before. We both have rheumatoid arthritis and 15 months ago my Husband slipped off a roof he was working on and broke his foot. he no longer works.

    The garden is very big, one and a half acres, half is already a lovely garden but the other half is in the process of becoming one, it used to be a sheep field. We need to remove brambles and put up 2 meter posts and fencing over about 150 meters long, Cutting back the hedges around one and a half acres.

    We'd like to put up a 2 meter high 10 meter long wire fence . We also have spring/summer planning to put in a large wagon wheeled raised veggie plot with a 2 central greenhouses for stating off the seedlings and a new raised koi pond with waterfall. We also need to finish putting in a fosse septic/septic tank in the small garden (for the kitchen/bathroom. We have a digger to use for this ).
    We would like help to get the window shutters painted too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some french

  • Accommodation


    Currently a 2 bedroomed 300 year old rustic country cottage, in a very quiet/peaceful village setting. Large beautiful ornamental garden with Koi fish pond.( And 7 free ranging chooks, 13 cats, 5 guinea pigs and 2 rabbits.) loads of parking in the garden for camper vans/caravan etc. There are many fruit trees in the small orchard.

    Wifi and english TV.

    Small Bedroom with double bed, and dresser, share toilet and shower room with us. ( until the second bathroom is up and running )
    Breakfast/ lunch and dinner supplied by us.

    Caravan in the large garden if prefered

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 3 kms from the nearest pretty town of Airvault 79600. with most amenities. Beautiful countryside and woods all outside the gate!, Lake 5 kms away for wildlife area, swimming pool, sports and watersports. Lots of cycle tracks. Wildlife, great for photography or painting. Historical villages and churches.
    20 minutes from Parthenay, Thouars and Bressuire, with Poitiers 45 minutes away with the main Train station and Airport.
    We have mountain bikes available to ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 742199937667