Teach English, look after our kids and help with our school and agro-organic farm in Senegal

  • Senegal
  • Favourited 159 times
  • Last activity: 28/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Fabio. I have been leaving in Senegal since 2005. I am the founder of a socio-cultural association. We are multicultural, trilingual (french, wolof, italien) and would love to share our lives and cultures with you.
    With my wife Fatima, and our 3 children, we live in a pretty house in the pleasant neighborhood of Yoff 100m from the most beautiful beach in Dakar.
    We are very busy with the activities of our association, which currently deals mainly with creating a socio-cultural center with an attached agro-organic farm and school. Not forgetting looking after our children.
    This is why we are always looking for workawayer who can support us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come share our live style in a real African city. We are multicultural, trilingual (french, wolof, italien) and would love to share our lives and cultures with you. You will get to know the Senegalese culture mixed with the Italian one. If you want you can get closer to traditional music and dance but also to the Wolof language, the first language spoken in all of Senegal.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The Workawayers will be asked to help 5 hours a day for 5 days a week which may include weekends, we don't have a fixed schedule.

    Fluent english is a must!

    There is some flexibility to the times of help, and this can be discussed once an application has been received. A minimum commitment to helping of one month is usually required, along with a flexible attitude.
    Our ideal workawayer is an extroverted person, with a good ability to relate to people, pragmatic, enthusiastic and who knows how to identify needs at any pre-established moment without waiting for him to be always told what to do.
    Often there is not much work to do, so good computer skills et social networking are desirable to improve the visibility of our project, but also someone with the passion of photography.
    The help which is required will be varied, and may include any or all of the following:
    Help with the kids (6, 11 and 14 yers old), chat to improve English, general maintenance, gardening, go to shopping in the local markets, help in social projects, helping in making advertising and posting pictures in our social networks page facebook and instagram,
    No previous experience is needed, but if you have any particular talents let us know.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Wolof: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are very interested in receiving native English speakers to improve it by speaking together!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room. All linen provided. The house in Yoff, close to the beach, supermarket (Auchan) and easy with transport. You can use anything in the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From Yoff you can easly discover the center of Dakar and the "slavery" island of Gorée.
    The Pink Lake (Lac Rose) i. You can also discover the pretty village of Toubab Dialaw. A little bit farer you can find Joal Fadiout, the desert of Lompoul, the lagune of Sine Saloum, and what it was the first capital of Senegal, Saint Louis.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 h/jour, 5 j/semaine

Host ref number: 738415718233

Photos

Feedback

Agroecology for sustainable development helps reduce poverty and violence in Senegal, Africa
Come and help to support sustainable agriculture in the Casamance, Senegal