Be part of our family and help with the kids and DIY near Bordeaux, France

Country

France

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a family based in rural southern France, living in a renovation house! We are mum (that’s me!), Dad and two boys aged 9 and 10. We also have a dog, two kittens, two pet rats, a rabbit and some chickens!
    We have a great countryside location that’s lovely and peaceful but are within 40 minutes of Bordeaux and 45 minutes from Angouleme.
    I have EDS and nerve damage and spend some of my time in a wheelchair or bed bound, whilst my husband sometimes has to work away from home.
    We are a multi-lingual family, speaking English and french fluently, but I also speak Italian and some German. I’m also a qualified languages teacher!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help with your french or your English speaking, and you can experience a multicultural rural french life.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone that could help mainly with the kids (not personal care, but helping make sure they eat properly, get to school etc) and if possible also someone that enjoys DIY renovation projects!
    Ideally we would like someone that can drive so they can have their freedom, as we are rural and there is no alternative transport - when my husband is away, I am housebound most days!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is a renovation project but it is warm, dry and clean (well, family home clean!)
    The work away would have a double bedroom, with central heating and double glazed windows, although the room is dated and the wallpaper both hideous and in some areas already stripped!
    The bathroom is a shared family shower room, and again, although it needs painting, it has otherwise been done recently with a brand new shower cubicle and basin. There is a separate toilet.
    The house has four bedrooms, a large lounge and dining room and a smaller kitchen, although we are currently converting the barn into a larger kitchen.
    We are surrounded by garden, and have a trampoline, outdoor free standing pool amd plenty of green space. Our garden has a field of five cows on three sides, and is not overlooked.
    We would love the workaday to join us for family meals, but are happy to be flexible on that. We normally eat a variety of food, and do eat meat. We keep chickens for eggs and have a veg garden too. My husband is a chef, so when he is home, we eat well!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a wonderful wine producing area, so you would be surrounded by cognac vines. There are local historic monuments as well as the beautiful historic town of Bordeaux and more recent Angouleme.
    Transport to and from the region by train is simple, with the TGV line being in Bordeaux, and our nearest station being 15 minutes drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 736722163232