Help a homeschooling family living off-grid in the etruscan forest in Italy.

Country

Italy

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    332

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a homeschooling family creating a self sufficient, off grid eco house on our Hazelnut farm.
    We have a preference for established couples and families with kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very creative family with a lot of different skills and interest. We can show you how to cook vegetarian and at times vegan, Italian and Indian cooking, for example how to make the famous Italian “Pizza Bianca”, south Indian “Idli’s” or explain the basics of sourdough and bread baking.
    We love to make music, so feel free to bring your own instruments, but we have some that you could use while staying with us. We also make our own guitars and other stringed instruments from recycled materials.
    We have lived as a family in Italy, in the Netherlands and in the USA and therefore we speak all 3 languages.
    We are trying to live off grid (i.e. solar power) and off the land as much as possible but, when we do have to buy some groceries, we try to buy as much as possible local produce and in-season fruits and vegetables.
    Some of our other interests and skills range from Reiki, to edible and medicinal spontaneous plants and herbs, to Tarot, to Astrology, to Art, to creative writing, to making fabric dolls, to sewing and to reading: we have loads of books in 3 different languages that you are free to read.

    We are located in Soriano nel Cimino, in the province of Viterbo, in the Lazio region, less than an hour north of Rome, in the “triangle” where Lazio, Umbria and Tuscany meet. It is just eight miles from the A1 autostrada motorway that travels between Milan, Florence and Rome. There is also a train station with trains to/from Rome and Viterbo. It is about an hour drive to the beach.

    The small town developed at the foot of the Orsini Castle (XIII century), located on top of a hill, overlooks the Tiber valley on a side, opening towards the Central Apennines, and on the other side it is mounted on the Mount Cimino. Its good position on top of a hill (509 metres above sea level), the mild climate, the healthy fresh air of the woods, its history, traditions, together with the exquisite hospitality and the natural beauty that surrounds it, make Soriano nel Cimino the ideal place where to spend a pleasant stay and a calm holiday all year round.
    The Mount Cimino (1053 metres above sea level), with its centuries-old and shady chestnut trees, the wonderful and majestic Faggeta that surrounds it on the top is the ideal destination for those who love nature and tranquility. The history starts far away, as traces of settlements of various ages show: from prehistory, to the Etruscans and the Romans.

  • Help

    Help

    We typically need help in the period from March till October.
    To participate in a work exchange, we expect a commitment of 1 or 2 weeks.
    We homeschool our children, we welcome other homeschooling families.
    Different projects and work to be done depends on the needs of the moment and can vary. For example: in autumn we will be collecting olives and hazel nuts and then pruning those trees; in spring we will need to collect cherries and keep the grass from growing too tall, and so on.
    There are some ongoing, routine activities such as cooking, babysitting, cleaning, de-weeding, watering the plants, sorting out wood, etc; in specific periods we might need help with construction and restructuring work.
    It is expected that you have an ability to adapt, you are versed into working and collaborating with other people, don’t mind sharing resources and spaces.
    Previous experience in farming, recycling, woodworking, building and plumbing are welcome, but not necessary.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in our yurt, camp in our tent or bring your own tent.
    We cook vegetarian food.
    Specific diet needs need to be communicated upfront.
    Please do not bring alcoholic beverages.
    It is possible to place your own tent on our field, or we might ask you to share one of our own tents with other people.
    We all share the same bathroom/restroom facilities.
    We use composting toilets.
    Hot water is solar powered hence it’s not available when the weather is not sunny.
    In the colder months you need to be able to operate a wood stove.
    As we advocate a detachment from routines and rhythms of modern society, we don’t offer an Internet connection for guests.
    Pets are currently not allowed (while we love animals, we have animals ourselves, including several cats and a dog who might not like to share their ‘territory’).
    We are on a hill, in the countryside, close to forests: this means that, for how much we can strive to keep everything tidy, there will still be dust and ground even in ‘closed’ space. We have pets (cats, dogs, hens) and there are also wild animals roaming the land (especially at night) and insects. Please consider this information before deciding to come visit us, especially in cases you are affected by allergies for animals or for dust.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a small dog, some cats and some chickens. Well behaved dogs that stay on a leash are welcome. Our land is not fenced.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 736354115998