Enjoy the sound of silence with my lovely horses in the rural life of Otersen, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on my own in a large traditional house which was built in 1904 as a remote train station to connect the village with the next town. The railroad was already removed in 1930 and the house was converted into a farm and guesthouse. The place is located in 1 km distance to the village (500 inhabitants). The village Otersen has been portrayed by German TV as the "Paradise at the (river) Aller".

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve/learn German, experience German life in the countryside!
    Opportunity to ride horses regularly (dependent on your height/weight and experience)
    Visits to local parks: Serengeti park Hodenhagen, wolves park, birds park Walsrode.
    Unlimited walking, hiking, cycling and canoing opportunities.

  • Help

    Help

    Activities include:
    Maintanance, building, refurbishing
    Caring for 10 horses and one cat
    Gardening
    Cooking
    Cleaning
    4 ,5 hours / day

    Daily tasks might include cleaning the horses' stables, preparing their food, giving them fresh water, grooming them, changing their rugs, putting them in their field and bringing them in, cleaning and checking their field, feeding the cat.

    For skilled workawayers there are many opportunities for practicing your craft: working with wood, renovating a construction site trailer into a holiday home, fencing etc. ....

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own very nice private bedroom in a comfortable large house. You will also have access to all other parts (kitchen, sitting room, dining room etc) of the house. There is a washing machine available for your laundry. Although the place is very remote high-speed internet is available.

    Free food will be provided and jointly cooked.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The next train station is located in Verden (15km) with a local bus operating to the village. Pick-up service from train station will be arranged.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4,5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 735173918823