Help with some gardening in a lovely rural property in Kent, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 38 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We live in a lovely rural property in heart of Kent. There are grown up children who visit from time to time but we do have two dogs here who are very friendly. I have a large garden that needs maintaining but due to fairly recent surgery I am no longer able to manage it all on my own. There are a lot of hedges that need cutting, lawns to be mowed, sheds to be painted and general maintenance work to be done. I am trying to learn French at the moment so a French speaking workaway would be very welcome but not essential.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My home is on the outskirts of Ashford which has shopping centres, a McArthur Glenn Designer outlet, leisure centre, cinema complex, ten pin bowling many restaurants and bars. If you are into Ales there is a brewery opening in Ashford in May. There is a typical English pub just 5 minutes walk away.

    In the surrounding area there are castles, vineyards, craft shops, public gardens and opportunities for cycling, walking and kayaking. Not far from Romney Marsh, Rye, Canterbury, Hastings and many more seaside towns with a mixture of pebble and sand beaches.

    London can be reached by train in about 35 mins and France can be visited using the Channel tunnel or Ferry which are both fairly close.

  • Help


    I have an acre and half of garden which is mainly fruit trees, hedges and a few hardy shrubs. I also have vegetables on my decking in trugs and pots. I particularly need help cutting the hedges, clearing brambles, pruning trees and grape vines (which also need posts and wires replacing) and mowing. Plus general all round help in the garden plus watering the plants. There are also a few odd jobs that need doing like repainting a wooden garage and also tidying and clearing out buildings. If you like animals my dogs love going for walks. If you have carpentry skills there are a couple of small inside jobs that I would appreciate help with.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    A comfortable double bedroom with clothes storage and an on-suite shower room. The room is suitable for a couple or a single person. It has a beautiful view of the rolling kentish countryside. Breakfast will be provided and snacks available during the day. Generally the main meal will be shared with us. We eat all foods so if you have any special dietary requirements you will need to cater for yourself. If you have any serious allergies please bare in mind that most foods are present in the home. There is a large quiet garden which is perfect if you want to relax and patio if you wish to smoke but no smoking in the house and definitely drugs will not be tolerated. You will have the use of a washing machine and shared use of the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Busses can be caught at the end of my road to get you into town or can be used to get to the train station or other transport links.
    The area in which we live is quiet and peaceful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 734895823583