Family welcoming French or Dutch speakers for American experience In Southern California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 740 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    115

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Belgian/American family with a almost 16 year old bilingual [Dutch/English] daughter. Interested in offering lodging, food, a US SIM card for your phone with data, US text and US calling. We have hosted people in teaching programs, business programs, a law student, interpreters, translators, gap year after high school or university etc. We have good references (our cat has good references as well).

    We have availability from January through May or early June. Typically our workaways stay a month or two but we have had workaways stay for 12 weeks. If you are looking to come to Los Angeles when we are not available, we know another reputable workaway host where you would only need to speak English.

    You must speak French well (does not need to be your native language) OR be a Dutch or Flemish speaker. Absolutely No smokers (even occasional smokers, vapers etc.). It would be advantageous if you have a drivers license (from any country). We have a car for you to use locally (within 100 km).

    I am Marty [husband/father]. My wife is Myriam. Our daughter is Laura.

    I met my wife while traveling in Europe when I was 23. We married eight years later. We have been married for 25 years now. Myriam is a High School French teacher [a second career].

    When I was in my twenties I spent a year traveling (on 3 different trips) to Europe, Thirty+ (30) + years ago I used to give talks at the local youth hostel on how to travel economically and safely to Europe [pre-internet...] I like to travel and enjoy cultural exchanges.

    This paragraph is my free advise whether we host you or not: While you are visiting here [or anywhere new], you can meet locals interested in travel by going to local couch surfing social events (no need to actually couch surf) and to the local Universities language department of any languages you speak and speak to classes of peers studying a language you speak. You can also contact other workawayers located close to where you will be staying (both foreign visitors like yourself and locals looking to travel abroad) through the workaway.info site. Those are my quick suggestions on how to meet like minded people in your own age range while traveling. If you can arrive in Arizona or Florida in Spring or drive to Arizona or Florida in winter there are some great deals (economy to midsize for $8 a day for up to 14 days one way [with no one way extra charge] plus an additional charge if you are under 25). From Florida typically from Spring through June 30th (some companies have different dates). If you are under 25 there is a supplemental charge for rental cars.

    You will help out with household chores to make our life easier and help out how you can, cooking some meals, perhaps helping with math, French or other homework with our daughter or in the garden, depending on the needs at the time and your skills. You can also help Myriam prepare interesting lessons for high school French classes and possibly attend Myriam’s class(es).

    You will hang out and go where we go, eat what we eat and join and help out our family for a cultural exchange. You will be able to go visit many local places [easier if you drive]. We have one super friendly cat which has never met a human she did not like. We also have a hamster named “catnip.” We have wifi throughout the house.

    We have had French, Dutch, Belgian, Swiss, Italian, German, Canadian and English workaways thus far.

    We recently moved in August 2018 so our location in Los Angeles County has changed. Our new house is in a nicer neighborhood but farther away from downtown Los Angeles. Our last four posted reviews were workaways at our new house. We also had two prior workaways return (Marie and Mayke) to our new house but their reviews relate to our old house as they no longer have active workaway accounts, they could not post a second review.

    Ask any questions you have.

    Thank you for reading our profile.

    Laura was
    here ^-^

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve your English and learn about American culture and food [which are not in the movies]. I can also teach you a few travel tricks.

  • Help

    Help

    You will join our family on our activities and get advice about what to do and see in Southern California. You will help out with us on average about 5 hours a day five days a week. Our new house is in a nice neighborhood in “The South Bay” area of Los Angeles.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English and French (fluently), German And Spanish (OK).

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a day bed in our home office in our new house. After school Laura uses the Office and Myriam makes copies from the copy machine sometimes. At night you will have privacy in the office (which is a bedroom with built in desks). You will share a bathroom (with two sinks and a separate shower) with Laura (the bathroom is next to the office and down the hall from Laura’s room.) We have our own master bathroom. The house is 3 bedrooms and 2.25 bathrooms [a full bathroom, a 3/4 bathroom and a 1/2 bathroom]. In the US a full bathroom has a shower and bath and toilet. A 3/4 bathroom has just a shower, sink(s) and toilet. A 1/2 bath is just a separate toilet (with a sink).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Studio City, Universal Studios, and everything else LA has to offer [i.e. beaches]. Possible side trips to San Diego, San Francisco, Yosemite, Sequoia, Las Vegas...depending on how long you stay and how adventurous you are and what your budget is

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours 5 days a week but varies.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 728749819321