1 / 5

Help on a small family farmstay in beautiful Barongarook, Australia

  • Favourited 21 times
  • Last activity: 27 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Shani, Merin (Mez) and Remi
    Living on a 2.6 acre block of land in Barongarook, Vic, Australia - in the foothills of the Otways.

    About our place:
    We have a KelpieX dog named Kari, and a few sheep. Soon we will have chickens and a cow too.
    There's lots trees & gardens (vege garden, native gardens), on a quiet dirt road.
    We are 10 minutes from Colac, the main town.
    Between 20-60 mins drive to Otways locations such as Forrest & Apollo Bay.

    About us:
    Shani - loves gardening, animals & being outside. Works as a children's counsellor.
    Mez - Musician and home handy-person, works as an audio tech.
    Remi - 2 year old boy who loves people & playing

    We're lovers of outdoors - camping & hiking, and like to share good times with others over some drinks & music.
    We eat a mix of home-grown/hunted meat and vegetarian meals, and like to eat fresh/whole foods.
    We are welcoming of all genders, cultures and are queer friendly.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you about gardening, composting, cooking, preserving, building/fixing skills. We love to share our skills, and would love to learn from you as well. We provide a warm, friendly space, and can give you local information about the Otways region, show you local places.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Types of help we are looking for:
    (The following tasks are all jobs which we already do on our property and would welcome assistance with. We can share /teach you how to do them with us)

    - Gardening and landscaping
    - Composting
    - General property maintenance
    - Building projects (chicken coop, tiling etc)
    - Harvesting and preserving
    - Animal care (shepherding sheep)

    We would welcome you to do cooking or babysit/play with Remi if it works out as well, but these types of support are not essential.

    We will share meals with you, and you are welcome to cook for yourself if you prefer/need. If you don't require us to provide food/meals, this can be accounted for in the hours of help you give.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a comfortable & clean caravan for workaways to stay in. It has a double bed, working kitchenette (fridge, stove & sink), power (lights, charging points), and a big awning. The caravan can be set-up close or far away from the house, depending how much space you want. Toilet & shower are inside our main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport directly to our house. If you don't drive, we can pick you up from Colac (train station), and take you in to Colac for shopping needs or to catch buses to other parts of the Otways.

    In your spare time you are welcome to relax around our property or go sightseeing around the Otways. We can take you to local events, Otways destinations or community gatherings if they coincide with your stay here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size will fit, we have a few acres of space.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 days a week of work, between 3-5hrs per day depending on the type of work. We can be flexible.

Host ref number: 726469519644

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help at my coastal hideaway in Brunswick Heads, Northern NSW, Australia
Experience the rainforest and tropical fruit trees. in Daintree Cedar Bay, Australia.