Help restore buildings, manage land and set up new spaces for our eco-campsite. Bosa, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    140

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Me (sardinian) and my husband (from north Italy), after 20 years the life in Bologna working as geologists, decided to move back to the warmth of Sardegna to continue our lives here. This was the first place we found (or what we feel is that it found us). In July 2010 we moved with the belly of her third daughter, to live in an old town house of very charming tourist town of Bosa, waiting to move into the farm that is located 4 km from the city in the wild valley of the river Temo. Meanwhile in the house we have created a BendB allowing overcharged us what we need to live.

    We work hard but believe in living life well and enjoying life's simple riches. We are working here to create a Non Profit environmental educational centre. We have already created an organic vegetable garden, planted fruit trees, have welcomed , 5 cows, 5 dogs and 8 cats into our family and are on the verge of completing a house di Bosa. Thanks to all the workaways, friends and family we are making huge strides in restoring the other buildings, managing the land and are planning to set up craft/educational workshop spaces, an outdoor kitchen, a bathroom for camping.

    Why Ecocamping ? 

    ECO: In our farm we love to create what we need, including hot water and cold water with small steps and auito of the sun, the water of the sinks is recycled and diverted the garden and the orchard, we are planning solar cookers, an even more efficient system for hot water, and we are studying how to accumulate the electricity generated. We try as much to recycle and use less plastic possible. We synergic vegetable gardens, and are about to build tree houses.

    NATURE: The farm is located inside a a natural park of Community interest, surrounded by a river that flows in Bosana coast, we are surrounded by fumarolizzate rocks with the presence of numerous minerals and colors, where lurk the griffins, welcoming an incredible variety of bio-diversitiy. The river make it an hot spot for wildlife and most especially in the summer time when will not rain for at least 3 month.

    This place was named after the oldest maps, because it is the holder of a particular energy that for millennia was appreciated and exploited for the purpose of their welfare. The specific energy is determined by the fact that in the place there are thermal waters at 23 degrees dating from 150 meters depth to a constant level of 14 meters. In the place we found different ceramics testifying that populations of millennia of previous years had lived.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Those who work with us will receive the benefits of our project to learn to be an independent human self that feels always loved the nature and life.
    Remember life on the land is very different from the "push button" lifestyle in a city. Everything requires a physical effort, this effort is what we love about living in nature, with nature and connected to nature. For most people this effort is called "hard work", for us it is called "living" and it makes us feel alive. One of the reasons why people live in cities is because basic living requires no effort.
    80% of workaways that visit us are city people, we found that many of them are not used to physical work because they never have had to use their bodies in such a way. Coming here will hopefully reconnect you with the memory locked in your body, passed on from your ancestors who for thousands of years used that effort to keep your family alive. In the meantime they were connected to the natural world in order to survive. If you expect to use no effort during your stay, please visit other hosts in cities.

  • Help

    Help

    We ask a minimum stay of 3 weeks
    The tasks are carried out in a friendly atmosphere for 5 hours a day.
    maximum 5 hours, 5 days per week ( you will need to track your hours)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the time of the year tents, wooden houses and some rooms in the house are available in winter time, Rooms usually are share by more workaway. We do our best to make it as comfortable as possible for you during your stay.
    In the structures we have everything you need including the bathroom with Swedish technology (compost toilets) and with hot water and electricity. Hot water is not infinite to make more showers must use only the necessary.
    Please bring your own sleepingbag, torch, work gloves and working boots ( hiking boots fine too), shower towel and everything you need to be indipendent and happy, this are essential to overcome trials days. 


    Minimum age 20 years old for workaways with no feedback.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in the river valley I fear inside a nature park of European interest, 4 km from Bosa, 6 km from beaches 40 km from Alghero.
    We are located in the river valley I fear inside a nature park of European interest, 4 km from Bosa, 6 km from spiaggee 40 km from Alghero. The [nearest airport to get here is from Alghero or from Olbia or Cagliari. From Cagliari you can get there by train to Macomer and then bus. Olbia is an adventure but we will try to pick you up. Alghero is very simple you arrive by bus.
    Please understand That travel is always an adventure. Sometime things happen and "you" have to accept it, but we try our best to support you in your arrival to us.

    At weekends we often like to explore special places of natural/historical importance around our local area or go to the sea. Many people choose to join us.
    We believe it is important to enjoy life, to live creatively and to be passionate about life so we especially welcome craftspeople, boffins, musicians, artist, positive pirates and everyone who is open to sharing and learning.
    Finally… we love to remember our Workaways so if possible….. please bring a recipe, a song or album and a book to share with us…

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

the party
play area for children and adults
our synergic vegetable garden
our synergic vegetable garden
what we try to be in life
our daughters
the harmony of our animals
our family
farm to 4 kilometers from the town of Bosa in Sardinia
activity
Fire as the spirit of our company, and meeting place

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 724911766814