Improve oral English and help tidy up spaces before winter time, in Aveyron, France

Country

France

updated   Last minute

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 30 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Catherine (70) and I live with my husband (78) in a farmhouse in Aveyron. We are located close to major roads, 5 minutes from Rieupeyroux, the nearest small town, 10 minutes from Baraqueville (station) and half an hour from Rodez and Villefranche de Rouergue where cultural events are regularly held. We are now retired from the farm work. Our son took over the exploitation and lives in the house next door with his wife and 3 children. They are our only neighbors. Our three grand children are often over to our house, they are 16, 14 and 11 years old. Your presence will be for me a help with the works as described below as well as a company for more relaxed activities such as visiting touristic sites.
    Thus we live in a quiet and green environment. On the farm there is a herd of cows, a small piggery as well as poultry for family needs.
    Our house is old, large and rather comfortable. That's where we have raised our 4 children; it presently needs minor renovation and reorganization works in order to adapt itself to the evolution of the family (new couples and grand-children).
    We usually cook in a simple way, with fresh and of the season products, from our garden whenever possible. We do not like to spoil food and avoid all kind of waste. Hence to sort out and to recycle things is important to us.
    Since the nearest towns are 5 and 14 kms away, it is essential that you may drive and have a driving licence authorised in France. We will lend you our car so that you may move independently. We may also request you from time to time to go for shopping to Rieupeyroux.


    Regarding the works to do around the house:
    They will be mainly done outdoors: such as the vegetable garden, the reorganization of the farm courtyard and the arrangement and tidying up of the old farm buildings.
    I will be with you for organizing and executing them. During these works you may be exposed to dust.

    Personally I practice Tai Chi and Aikido. My hobbies are mainly drawing, sewing, gardening and tinkering, which I will be happy to share with workawayers. I also love to listen to music during my activities.
    In 2019, I started to learn photography with a local club and this year I will join a local choir.
    I understand English.

    Depending on the needs, and if you are interested you may occasionally help my husband in his activities (see below).
    He likes gardening vegetables. He looks after the pigs and the poultry. He goes walks in the pres and the woods. He knowsthe names of plants and trees. He enjoys sharing these moments with our visitors.
    He assists our son in small works. He plays cards (belote) with his friends and watches sport on TV.


    Je m'appelle Catherine (70)et j'habite avec mon époux, Raymond(78), dans une maison de ferme dans l'Aveyron.
    Nous sommes situés près des grands axes de circulation, à 5 mn du bourg centre, Rieupeyroux, à 10 mns de Baraqueville (gare SNCF) et une demi-heure de Rodez et de Villefranche de Rouergue où des événements culturels ont régulièrement lieu.
    Nous sommes retraités de l'agriculture et un de nos fils a repris l'exploitation ; il habite dans la maison voisine avec sa femme et ses enfants. Ce sont nos seuls voisins dans le hameau. Nos 3 petits-enfants nous rendent souvent visite, ils ont 16, 14 et 11ans.
    Votre présence sera pour moi une aide aux travaux et une compagnie sur des activités plus ludiques telles que visites touristiques dans la région.

    Ainsi nous vivons dans un espace calme et verdoyant; Sur l'exploitation il y a un troupeau de vaches, une petite porcherie et de la volaille pour la famille.
    Notre maison est ancienne, grande et assez confortable, nous y avons élevé 4 enfants; elle a besoin de petits travaux de rénovation et de réorganisation pour suivre l'évolution de la famille.
    Nous faisons une cuisine très simple, avec des produits frais, de saison, du jardin si possible. Nous n'aimons pas gâcher la nourriture, évitons toute sorte de gaspillage, et recyclons et trions. Ceci est très important pour nous.
    Il est indispensable de pouvoir conduire, d'avoir un permis autorisé en France : nous vous prêtons notre voiture pour que vous puissiez être autonome. Vous serez également susceptible de faire des courses au chef-lieu, si besoin.
    Concernant les travaux, je serai avec vous pour les organiser et les exécuter. Ces travaux peuvent vous mettre en présence de poussière. Ces travaux seront essentiellement exécutés à l'extérieur : le jardin potager, l'aménagement de la cour de ferme, et le rangement à l'intérieur des anciens bâtiments de ferme.

    Pour ma part je pratique le Tai Chi et l'Aikido, j'aime dessiner, coudre, jardiner et bricoler et serai heureuse de partager mes hobbies avec les workawayers. J'adore écouter de la musique pendant mes activités.
    En 2019, j'ai commencé la photo, et cette année, je vais débuter dans une chorale.
    Je comprends l'anglais.

    Si cela vous intéresse, vous participerez aux activités de mon époux.
    Il aime cultiver les légumes au jardin, s'occuper des cochons et de la volaille. Il aide notre fils pour des petits travaux. Il joue à la belote avec ses amis, et regarde le sport à la télé. Il aime aussi faire de bonnes marches dans nos prés et dans nos bois. Il connaît le nom des plantes et des arbres. Il aime partager ces moments avec nos visiteurs.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -French practice: I have a high level of education, love reading and have a huge and diversified amount of books),
    - Discovery of the region and surrounding areas rich in history (Larzac, Aubrac, the Lot ...). Rodez, picturesque medieval town with Soulages museum of international renown and Fenaille museum, etc .... Villefranche-de-Rouergue, medieval Conques Bastide and sites of Belcastel and Sauveterre, prehistoric caves within 45 minutes from home, etc. ..
    - Discovery of agricultural life - on the spot and in the surrounding area - which presents in the region a great variety of practices in breeding and in culture (calves, ewes, pigs, goats, above ground, ducks, milk, various pastures and cultures of cereals, corn and potatoes). Transformation and sales of products in short or traditional circuits.

    - Pratique du français (j'ai un niveau d'éducation supérieure, aime beaucoup lire et j'ai une grande bibliothèque).
    - Découverte de la région riche en histoire ainsi que des régions avoisinantes (Larzac, Aubrac, le Lot...). Rodez, ville pittoresque avec le musée Soulages, de niveau international et musée Fenaille, etc.... Villefranche-de-Rouergue, bastide médiévale ainsi que les sites de Conques, Belcastel et Sauveterre, à moins de 45 mns de la maison, grottes préhistoriques, etc....
    - Découverte de la vie agricole - sur place et dans les environs - qui présente dans la région une grande variété de pratiques en élevage et en culture (veaux, brebis, porcs, lait, chèvres, hors-sol, canards , divers pâturages et cultures de céréales, maïs et pommes de terre). Transformation et ventes des produits en circuits courts ou traditionnels.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on their abilities and projects, volunteers will be required for the following::

    - English: Practice of the language with objective to be able to hold a conversation
    - Vegetable garden: To re-implant in a more sustainable way
    - Storage: Cellars and courtyards to empty and tidy up
    - Cultural visits: To practice English
    - Green areas around the house: Cleaning and preparation before winter

    As we are two persons at home only, the lifestyle is relaxed, schedules quite flexible and changing. Meals will be prepared / taken together or separately according to the schedule of the day.


    Selon leurs aptitudes et projets les bénévoles seront amenés à:

    - Anglais : Pratique de la langue pour pouvoir tenir une conversation en anglais.
    - Petit potager : Le re-implanter de façon plus pérenne
    - Rangement: Caves et cours à vider et ranger
    - Visites culturelles: afin de pratiquer l'anglais
    - Espaces verts autour de la maison : nettoyage et préparation avant l'hiver


    Comme nous ne sommes que deux personnes à la maison, le rythme de vie est très souple et variable selon les jours. Les repas seront préparés/pris ensemble ou séparément selon le planning du jour.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    français et anglais

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room (double bed) and shared bathroom (shower and toilet) located in an independant wing of the house with separate entrance. Cable Internet (Ethernet jack and WiFi in the house)

    Chambre individuelle (lit double), sanitaires partagés (lavabo, douche et WC) dans l'aile indépendante de la maison. Internet par cable dans les chambres (prise ethernet) et wifi dans la maison.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A car will be made available to you to facilitate travelling in the region during free time.
    Many touristic and cultural sites exist in the surroundings as described above.

    Une voiture pourra être mise à disposition pour faciliter les déplacements dans la région pendant le temps libre.
    De nombreux sites touristiques et culturels existent aux alentours comme décrit précédemment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    In average, maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, with possibility of change and adjustment that will be agreed together.

douche pour les visiteurs
L'arrivée dans notre cour
Une des deux chambres pour les workaway
Raymond, mon mari et son chien







Host ref number: 723325344187