Join us for harvesting near Hammamet, Nabeul, Tunisia

Country

Tunisia

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living South of Hammamet town in the Governorate of Nabeul. Our house is in a calm area surrounded by a nice garden with a wide variety of Mediterranean plants. It is at a walking distance from the sea and shops. Near our home is a studio where volunteers will be accommodated. We have an olive and citrus orchard 10km away. The activities are related to olive picking (we do it the traditional way), some gardening (like pruning) or some DIY (like painting). Volunteers are needed mainly during the period December to January. They will help us either in the garden or in the orchard. We have dogs and cats free in the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will have the opportunity to stay in the vicinity of Hammamet and enjoy the pleasant atmosphere of the orchard farm (citrus, orange, olive trees among others). They will be able to visit the nearby sea and sandy beach, walk in the old and authentic Medina of Hammamet or at the Marina of the new Yasmine Hammamet, join our regular walking tours in the countryside, go sightseeing to the close towns of Nabeul, Zaghouan, or Tunis, or explore farther the inner country and discover the beauty of the country. The volunteers will get all the information they wish to know on the history of the area, the country, the local traditions, and Tunisian-Arabic language and culture. They will try traditional home-made food.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help will be needed from December to January mainly for olive picking and gardening work. As the property is big other tasks such as house maintenance can be proposed to the volunteers if they wish to help extra or differently. They can help in the preparation of the picked fruits (making jam, cracking almonds, etc). There are employees working with us but extra help is needed.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is an independent bungalow close to the house where the volunteers will stay with full privacy. It is composed of one bed room, one living room, a separate kitchen (equipped with fridge and oven, dishes, etc), bathroom, and garden. Internet connection and air conditioning with heating option are available.
    Volunteers will share the food cooked by and for us. Some food will be provided so that they prepare their breakfast and some meals. If they wish they can join for some shopping in town or take part to the cooking. Particular diets or food intolerance should be mentioned from the first communication.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers will be picked up at the airport at their arrival. Transportation for leisure will be at their own cost. Buses and collective taxis are cheap. Stops are at a very close distance from the accommodation. Workawayers can also take advantage of our trips when we move around. We look forward to hear about your volunteering experience and meeting interesting people!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 717283391473