Take care of our son and experience family beach life in Arugam Bay, Sri Lanka

  • Sri Lanka
  • Favourited 150 times
  • Last activity: 7 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Remark: We found someone for summer 2023; next available dates are most probably from December 2023 onwards. Thank you :)

    hello globetrotter, we are Angie and Rihan. Our little mixed family (German / Sri Lankan) is looking for help with our little son (1.5 years old). Come and join us, live the tropical beach life on the East Coast of Sri Lanka!

    About us:
    We are in our mid-thirties, and our son is 1.5 years old. We run a small beach resort. Living surrounded by beautiful nature, we enjoy that we can live our life the way we do. We also have 4 dogs and 2 cats :)
    Our daily life is focused on hosting, and creating a good environment for our guests to have a great experience. As tourism slowly comes back, we are getting busier. Therefore, a helping hand (or two, also couples are welcome) is needed. Angie is originally from Germany. She's a yoga teacher, works on everything behind the scenes, and mainly takes care of our son. Rihan is the man, who keeps daily life and the business running. He loves surfing, which is possible in our area in the months March/April to October/November. We are blessed to live a life in the sun, with warm weather, at the beach. Nature is beautiful here, and we love exploring and discovering it with little tours, to see wildlife like elephants and crocodiles. Sometimes, we just drive out to watch the sunset.

    We are ready to open our home for someone who is willing to give full hearted passion and time. In return, you will become part of our little slice of paradise here.

    About your tasks:
    Your main task is babysitting and taking care of our son. He is a happy and playful baby, exploring the world in a cheerful way. He is used to being with people, as he spends time with us in the hotel, being surrounded by guests. We would need your help normally 2-3 hours in the late morning/ lunchtime and again in the afternoon. Flexibility is needed, as we are not about fixed schedules, but about going with the flow. Angie will be around and close by, though you would give her space and time to work.
    You would have enough free time for yourself, for example to explore the area or to surf.
    Simple work like tidying up toys, brooming the floor to keep the playing area clean or other small tasks in the household might be needed.

    About you:
    You are passionate about taking care of kids, and/ or you have experience with child care in a kindergarten. You are open to modern ways of raising a child, and you are ready to adapt to our ideas. You are a patient and positive character, and creative in how to spend a great and meaningful time with our son. Furthermore, you like to be in nature, and you do not need a busy city life to be happy. You are independent and organized.
    Our son is raised speaking three languages: English, German and Tamil. Therefore, you are fluent in English and/ or German.
    It is required that you can stay longer than 4 weeks, as everything less is too short for both sides to get to know each other.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As living with us in our family, you will be able to learn about the East Sri Lankan way of living as well as a little bit of German lifestyle. In our daily life, you will get to know the culture and food of this region. Food plays an important role for us. Rihan is a chef, and good food matters. If you are interested in cooking, Rihan will be more than happy to teach you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Your main task will be babysitting and spending time with our son. We are looking for someone who is passionate about child care and aware or open for new and modern concepts. Our son is a happy baby, and spending time with him is a lot of fun.
    Part of your tasks will also be tidying up the house when needed. We require someone who is willing to take an active part in family life, using common sense and being responsible.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Tamil: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    In our spacious house, you will have your own room with air conditioning and attached private bathroom. It is a high standard room and used to be rented out as well. You will have a private entrance via the terrace. There's a kitchen in the house you can use anytime. We as a family eat in the restaurant of our hotel, where you are invited to join us. The beach is just a 2 minutes walk away from our house. Of course, you can use our Wi-Fi at anytime.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As mentioned, we live in a rural area of Sri Lanka. From Colombo, it's a 6 hours taxi drive. Once you are here, you can use a bicycle to go downtown. Walking is also very convenient here, as nothing is really far. People love to travel to Arugam Bay for many reasons, like surfing and meeting other like-minded travellers in summer, or for nature and relaxing all year long. Life is simple here, and rich in seeing the beauty in the small things.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a fast and unlimited internet connection. In your room is a desk and chair.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 716213417647

Feedback (1)


A new small eco friendly hotel project in Ella, Sri Lanka
Join us by the beach and help with projects around our new hostel in Weligama, Sri Lanka