Experience the Beautiful Texas Borderlands and nature reserves while staying with a low-key family in Brownsville, TX, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    237

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a large family, but only 4 of us are living in the home at this time. Three children live with their other parent/on their own.

    - John, 43, Emergency Medical Task Force Coordinator for the State of Texas
    - Me, Sarah, 43, home schooling mom, remote web development agency owner, classical ballet teacher - in that order ❤️
    - Adri, 22yo son - Fire man - lives on his own
    - Hannah 17yo daughter, volunteer at Sea Turtle, Inc

    We have a big home (3200 sf) with a huge yard (3 acres) complete with palm trees and citrus trees and rose bushes, an in-ground pool (with a slide!), a wonderful gazebo and covered back porch. We have a dog named Sandy & three outside cats named Jill, Amber, and CrackCat (she’s crazy!)

    We live only 15 minutes from SpaceX’s new launch pad, 20 mins from the most beautiful beach in Texas (look up Boca Chica Beach), 25 minutes from the Mexico/American border crossing, and 30 minutes from South Padre Island. The infamous "Trump Wall" (which is really Obama's wall... technically...) is 1/2 mile away from us.

    *️️️️️️Please note: my partner is a smoker but he NEVER smokes in the home. Only outside. Smokers are welcome - but please only smoke on the outside gazebo. Thank you!*️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you improve English, help explore our area and culture, or help you get registered for a local college. You should come to South Texas expecting a heavy Latino/Hispanic/Mexican (97% of the population.) White folks are the minority here so you should be comfortable being around a predominately Spanish speaking community.

  • Help

    Help

    I am really only looking to expose the children to other cultures and broaden their world! Anything you want to offer in exchange for staying will probably be fantastic.

    You will enjoy your stay if you like big )low-key) families and are genuinely interested in experiencing and exploring South Texas. We live right on the border with Mexico - so taking day trips or short term trips across is totally doable. There are also plenty of places to volunteer if you want that experience. You mighy have fun working with the kids on their school work, language classes, teach them a new skill, help us start a garden, lead them on an art project, or other interesting things. The ideas are limitless.

    If you’d like to cook your favorite cultural dish, we’d love that! If you want to help around the house, you could do the shopping for me (I pay, you shop!), help with household chores, do some deep cleaning, help with animal care, or help with yard work. I also run a web development agency and there’s always projects/clients to be wrangled. If you’re a whiz at online selling, I have a storage closet full of stuff needing to be photographed and listed online. These are all easy things you can do - or if you have ideas I’d love to hear them.

    Oh - and - if you speak Sign Language, Spanish, German, or Italian and can help us with some language lessons that would be amazing!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Some Spanish, Some Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In exchange for your help I can offer a private room and bathroom, use of all the shared living spaces in the home including the kitchen and all appliances. We keep the groceries stocked, and you are more than welcome to eat with us. We also have plenty of space for you to stock your own food/snacks and cook your own meals if you prefer. We eat traditional American meals including meat, vegetables, and fruits. (Think barbecue or pan grilled meats, fresh and frozen veggies, fruits, and breads.) We would love to experience other cultural meals if you are inclined to cook for a large family!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your free time you can explore the beach, the wildlife refuge, SpaceX launch pad (right down the street from us!), enjoy the pool, relax under the Texas Sun and cool ocean breeze, visit museums, farmers markets, volunteer at Sea Turtle, Inc, join one of any missionary groups serving groups in Mexico, or just ... do nothing!

    I recommend you have a car, but there is a bus stop not too far from the house. We live off a sometimes busy roaf and riding ones bike to the bus stop may or may not be safe. But we do have a bicycle you can use if you’d like. Once you're AT the bus stop (I’m happy to drive you down there) you can get around all of South Texas via public transportation. If you drive, you are welcome to borrow my car anytime I'm not using it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week

Elon Musk is building his latest SpaceX facility just a few miles from my house! This is the test spaceship for the BFR - the rocket that will carry us all to Mars and back!
South Padre Island beaches are pristine & the view is always absolutely beautiful.
My sweet mom, and me, climbing the lighthouse at Port Isabel. I grew up playing on the lighthouse lawn. I love being able to share these memories with my Mama.
This is one of my favorite pictures of the backyard. The yard has a pool, covered patio, covered gazebo, orange and lime trees, rose bushes, plenty of palm trees, and swing and hammock to relax upon. We live outside of the city & for the most part the ambient noise from morning through evening provide a meditative environment. Outside in the backyard is definitely my favorite place to retire to.
A typical sunset from the backyard!
Hannah in her happy place: on the swing with Jill the cat.
Claire having fun in historic downtown Brownsville!
Our favorite place in Texas: Boca Chica Beach at Sunset!
The view of the bay, the bridge to South Padre Island, and SPI on the horizon line - as seen from on top of the Lighthouse in port Isabel!
This is on the bay side of Boca Chica beach. This is a great place for nature walks, exploration, fishing, and putting a kayak in. We're getting four kayaks this summer!
Points of interest circled. My house is only about 3 miles from the border wall. In downtown Brownsville you can walk across "Friendship Bridge" to visit Mexico. That access bridge is about a 15 minute drive from the house. Or you can take a bus there. There are beaches a plenty. South Padre is 30 minutes away, our favorite beach is 20 mins away. The airport to Brownsville is 5 minutes from my house.
Host ref number: 712689711894

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more