Learn about olive oil production and help around the house, at my place in Sicily

Country

Italy

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, thanks for stopping by. I currently live in England but I own a place in the sunny Sicily and go there about once or twice a year depending on my schedules here in UK.
    So you can imagine how this place in the sun can be very messy after a year of inactivity.
    That is where you come in (I hope).

    The help is mostly needed end of September - October for the olives harvest . I normally know the exact date I am going only end of July, August. Please get in touch if you're interested.

    Thanks for looking and for your interest.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    Help around the house, cleaning up, weeding outside in the garden, also there will be olive picking involved during September-October, pruning, and flower picking as well from my brother's farm nearby.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation in the countryside house (in the picture) You could be sharing the house with other people, but have your own private room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Have you ever wonder how extra virgin olive oil is produced? You can learn all the process from harvesting to when the oil is coming out from the presses, we are going to have also some almond picking. We have a bit of everything for you so you can enjoy our Mediterranean food and weather and learn new things. The place is located in the South of Sicily, near Niscemi and we have a beautiful natural reserve close to our farm called Sugherata,which is a cork wood forest plus the sea is only 30-40 minutes by car. We have very interesting Roman and ceramic museum in the city nearby of Caltagirone and Piazza Armerina.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5


Host ref number: 699611232942