Enjoy a cultural exchange and help around our Family cottage in the Highlands of Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family with a big project. David, the dad is a builder from Poole in England. He has rebuilt an old cottage and some annexes of the house to start a holiday letting business in the Scottish Highlands. Lucia, the mum is a Spanish tourism professional. I manage the holiday lettings, clean a lot and look after our 1 year old daughter. We also have 2 very friendly bull dogs, Benson and Brut. Apart from being a mum and work in the family business, I am also a Spanish teacher and an amateur but passionate gardener. I have a poly tunnel and I am trying to arrange our garden.

    We live near Eilean Donnan Castle, one of the most emblematic castles of the Highlands of Scotland. The landscape here is breathtaking. It is a very rural but touristy area and we live in the middle of nature with the deer coming to visit us in the evening and early morning. The wildlife here is impressive and we live right at the door of The isle of Skye.

    We have a spare room in the house, it is a lovely new and modern double room with wonderful views. We would be happy to exchange some help for it and it would be fun to have some company. There are plenty of activities to do here if you like nature including trekking, kayaking, sailing, boat trips, fishing, castle visiting, whisky distilleries, wildlife watching, climbing or just walk and immerse yourself in the spectacular untouched surrounding.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a mixed culture family and would love to hear the stories and traditions of your home place and share ours. We normally speak English in the house but I also speak Spanish and I try to learn French. We can offer good advise on where to go in skye and activities to do around to get involve with local people. Everyone here is very welcoming.

  • Help

    Help

    We would agree the tasks prior your arrival and these, will vary depending on your knowledge and experience. We have work to do helping building, looking after Maya, gardening and cleaning. Simple things like doing the never-ending ironing would be a big help for those more inexperienced in other areas. While people with building or gardening would be welcome as well. I always have housework and would welcome a helping hand with any of the daily cleaning jobs. Other simple tasks like cleaning the car or windows would really be appreciated as we don't have the time to do them anymore.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a modern double room with views and a very confortable king size bed. The bathroom is our main downstairs bathroom. It is all new, modern and clean. It has a ceiling powerful shower and underfloor heating plus a heating towel wrack. We provide food to make your own breakfast in the morning and you are welcome to use the kitchen any other time of the day as long as you keep it clean and tidy, of course.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ideally you would have your own car, it is the best way to explore the area. But there are a few busses a day and the bus stop is only 20min walk from the house. Hitchhiking also works well in this part of the world. I'm happy to help with transport always when I can.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day 5 days a week





Host ref number: 698647782788