Come and be part of creating a haven. England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a simple house at the foot of the South Downs close to Lewes and Brighton. I am surrounded by woodland and fields and my garden. Dark skies and quiet are constant here and a sense of a gentler pace.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are many art, historical and literary sites close by plus the chalk downland environment and sand pits for swimming. I am open to people's own ideas and projects and foraging is a constant passion.
    Music is a joy and outdoor fires a pleasure.

  • Help

    Help

    Anyone with skills such as plumber/electrician/carpenter would be ideal.
    One, two or three people wanting to learn and create.
    I have a developing garden and need secure chicken and duck runs and compost toilet and outdoor bathroom.
    In exchange for living as family - meals and comfortable accommodation. About 25 hours a week each would be wonderful. The house is rural but there are bicycles to use and bus and trains close by.
    I have some Spanish and welcome any culture.
    Visitors and family are a constant feature and I enjoy sharing and receiving knowledge and skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are guest rooms in the house, a cabin in the garden or tents can be used. Should anyone have the skills to build a yurt, teepee or treetops I would be very interested.
    Food will always be available and meals shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is friendly, the local community small and varied. Two pubs within a short walk and trains to London within the hour. Buzzy Brighton and the sea is close or idyllic and peaceful Cuckmere Haven for sea, white cliffs, river and sky.
    I had an organic, mixed farm for nearly twenty years and had volunteers staying for harvests or terrace building and learning dairy skills, making bread etc.
    I am happy to share tasks and learn other methods.
    People are a constant source of pleasure and wonder to me and I believe strongly we all benefit from sharing time and space.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 698517659348