Join our family and experience family life while helping us to fix our 16th century coaching house near London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 169 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    28

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are restoring a large 16th Century coaching house, which is our family home, with many period features on a busy trafic street in a small village in Bedfordshire. We have lots of tasks that need doing covering a whole range of skill sets and levels of experience both with the renovation and the day to day tasks of running a large house. More hands to help always appreciated in our busy and active household. Help needed Friday-Tuesdays.

    Both my husband and I have travelled a lot. My husband now works on the renovation of the property, and is professionaly trained in this area. I work from home for a proportion of every week.

    We are also a home educating family of one child who loves to meet new people and learn about new cultures and languages and anything else that comes up!

    The village has a small shop and post office as well as a pub and is mentioned in the Doomsday book with parts of the church dating from the 14th and 15th Century. There are a number of National Trust properties short drives away, Woburn Abbey, Whipsnade zoo and the Chiltern Hills and all the walking trails that can be found on them. Being a home educating family we know of lots of interesing places to see. In Milton Keynes there is an IMAX, Climbing Wall, Snow dome and theatre that has London shows on tour among other things.

    A can do attitude and a sense of humour works well in our family.

    We are early risers and early to bed and this may not suit everyone! We also dont have a TV.

    I will add some pictures! ;-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to experience living in a historic property and helping bring it back to what it was. Chance to practice English at family dinners. Benefit from local knowledge for days out.

    Having also lived in London we are well positioned to advice on things to see there too. We are well located to reach a range of historic cities and close to good rail connections for further afield trips.

  • Help

    Help

    We have lots of tasks that need doing covering a whole range of skill sets and levels of experience and more hands to help appreciated. Help needed Friday-Tuesdays.

    My husband now works on the renovation of the property, is professionally trained in this area. Workaways are not replacing local tradesman.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will always have access to your own bedroom and most of the time own bathroom. Sharing a kitchen. We don't have TV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 20 minutes drive from Milton Keynes and the historic market town of Leighton Buzzard and Woburn in different directions. Good train links from Leighton Buzzard. There is a commuter coach to and from the village during the week to London.

    We are about an hour’s drive from both Oxford and Cambridge and a coach goes to both places from nearby Milton Keynes.

    We have lost our village bus route at the moment which is not great but lifts possible and the local taxi firm very good, we also have one bycycle for workaways to borrow should they wish.

    Being rural there are walks in the immediate area.

    We are also about 30 minutes drive from Luton Airport.

    No pets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 697157758425