Help us with permaculture and an interesting repopulation project in a small Galician village, Meaus / Ourense, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Javi and together with my wife Carol and our 2 daughters (7 and 13 years old) we decided to leave our life in the city to start a repopulation project in a small Galician village (Meaus / Ourense).

    The main motivation that pushed us to change our way of life was the unsustainable pace of living in a big city (Barcelona). Over the years we have perceived how the village where my ancestors lived was disappearing and we decided to take action to save one of many villages destined to disappear in rural areas. Another great motivation was to give my daughters the opportunity to grow up in nature, surrounded by green areas and animals.

    Javi (43), I was born in Barcelona and lived there all my life until a few days before the pandemic. There I worked in the tourism sector and undertook several projects and ideas until turning them into my business ..

    Carol (41 years old), also born in Barcelona and her origins are from an area of ​​Galicia near where we live carrying on our long-term project. She is a psychologist and speech therapist.

    Iria (13) and Noa (7), were born in Barcelona and are very happy with the life change we have made. One studies in the second grade and the other in the seventh grade.
    Here we dedicate ourselves to the care of the animals on our farm, the cultivation of our small vegetable garden and the management of a rural house.

    Our project, perhaps too ambitious, is to recover the life that the village once had, so we are creating a community of people who can live in the village for an indefinite stay. With the possibility of being able to settle in the village and start a new life here.
    In the village there are people from many different countries (Ukraine, Italy, Switzerland) beside the local population.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The people interested in this project will be able to learn and be part of a restocking project in the rural world. During your stay you will be able to enjoy the customs of the Galician area and discover the unique history that surrounds the area (Couto Mixto). Being an international project, participants will be able to learn about the culture of other countries and areas. The goal is to create a cooperative society where we can all learn from each other.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need two volunteers to help us with our project:

- someone who can help us take care of the foods we will plant. We would like to start practicing permaculture, therefore we would need a volunteer who knows how to take care of a vegetable garden. Experience in how to take care of animals is a plus. Our objective is to provide all the vegetables which are necessary in the restaurant of the village and to sell, once a week, the vegatbles to the locals.

    - someone who can help us renovating the old stables used for animals in the village. Our objective is to convert these abandoned spaces into homes or workplaces, where it will be possible to start different types of activities, like a co-working space. 

The most we could ask for is a mutual collaboration between the volunteers when and if necessary.


  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Galician: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish - native English - intermediate Italian - intermediate Portuguese - intermediate Catalan and Gallego :)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation where volunteers will be located is a house with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, a dining room and an outdoor patio. The house will be shared with other people who are working on the project. Wi-fi is included.

    It is a typical town house, appropriately renovated about 20 years ago. It has no luxury, but it satisfies every need.

    Food for breakfast, lunch and dinner will be provided according to the volunteers needs and diets. A weekly trip to the closest city will allow to buy everything necessary from the supermarket. Local products like eggs, chicken and vegetables will be always at the volunteers disposal.

    The surrounding land will also be available to volunteers to grow food for their own use and consumption.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area where the town is located is surrounded by nature and mountains. It is a place with a unique history. There are many paths where you can walk and enjoy an almost untouched environment. Next to the village there is a river where you can swim.

    In terms of transport, there is a bus that once a day makes the Meaus-Xinzo de Limia route, which is the city where all the necessary services are located.
    Regardless, once a week a cartrip will be organized to Xinzo to buy all the necessary.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Free parking spots

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    All animals are welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 695399964712